Austrian GP 1999

Austrian GP, 1999

Two weeks after Michael Schumacher's crash in the British GP at Silverstone, Eddie Irvine arrived in Austria as Ferrari team leader, but at the A1 Ring the Ulsterman got a shock in qualifying when he was a second off the pace of the two McLaren-Mercedes. As usual Mika Hakkinen was on pole with David Coulthard second. Behind Irvine were Heinz-Harald Frentzen in his Jordan-Mugen and Rubens Barrichello in his Stewart-Ford. Michael Schumacher's Ferrari replacement - Mika Salo - qualified seventh.

Hakkinen took the lead at the start but at the second corner he was tipped into a spin by Coulthard. The Scotsman took the lead - and later the blame. In the confusion that followed Barrichello got ahead of Irvine. Further back Salo ran into the Stewart of Johnny Herbert.

Coulthard seemed to have the race sewn up as he pulled away with Irvine stuck behind Barrichello, but after his pit stop David struggled with the car and when Irvine pitted the Ferrari driver was able to get into the lead. The McLaren improved as the fuel burned off but Coulthard was stuck behind the Ferrari and stayed there until the finish, the two crossing the line separated by only 0.313s. Hakkinen drove a brilliant recovery to finish third but he was angry as his lead in the World Championship had been cut from eight points to two.

Frentzen picked up points in fourth place while Alexander Wurz had a good day in front of his home crowd and finished fifth for Benetton. Pedro Diniz scored the final point for Sauber.

Eddie Irvine Ferrari  71 1h28m12.438  1m11.973 
David Coulthard McLaren-Mercedes  71 0.313  1m11.153 
Mika Hakkinen McLaren-Mercedes  71 22.282  1m10.954 
Heinz-Harald Frentzen Jordan-Mugen Honda  71 52.803  1m12.266 
10 Alexander Wurz Benetton-Supertec  71 1m06.358  1m12.850 10 
12 Pedro Diniz Sauber-Petronas  71 1m10.933  1m13.223 16 
19 Jarno Trulli Prost-Peugeot  70 1 Lap  1m12.999 13 
Damon Hill Jordan-Mugen Honda  70 1 Lap  1m12.901 11 
Mika Salo Ferrari  70 1 Lap  1m12.514 
10 18 Olivier Panis Prost-Peugeot  70 1 Lap  1m13.457 18 
11 21 Marc Gene Minardi-Ford  70 1 Lap  1m14.363 22 
12 Giancarlo Fisichella Benetton-Supertec  68 3 Laps  1m12.924 12 
13 20 Luca Badoer Minardi-Ford  68 3 Laps  1m13.606 19 
14 17 Johnny Herbert Stewart-Ford  67 4 Laps  1m12.488 
15 23 Ricardo Zonta BAR-Supertec  63 8 Laps  1m13.172 15 
16 Rubens Barrichello Stewart-Ford  55 Engine 1m12.342 
11 Jean Alesi Sauber-Petronas  49 Fuel 1m13.226 17 
15 Pedro de la Rosa Arrows  38 Brakes 1m14.139 21 
Alessandro Zanardi Williams-Supertec  35 Fuel 1m13.101 14 
22 Jacques Villeneuve BAR-Supertec  34 Driveshaft 1m12.833 
14 Toranosuke Takagi Arrows  25 Engine 1m13.641 20 
Ralf Schumacher Williams-Supertec  Spin 1m12.515