Spanish GP 1989

OCTOBER 1, 1989

Spanish GP, 1989

There was a much controversy going on in the week between the Portuguese and Spanish Grand Prix as the FIA had decided that Nigel Mansell should be given a one-race suspension for having ignored a black flag and then run into Ayrton Senna, taking the Brazilian out of the race. Mansell was threatening to retire if the ban went ahead. He backed down.

Elsewhere in the paddock Christian Danner had been dropped by Rial in favor of Gregor Foitek, who had been dropped earlier by the EuroBrun team. In qualifying the young Swiss driver had a sizable accident but emerged unhurt. Qualifying resulted in pole position for World Championship challenger Ayrton Senna ahead of Gerhard Berger's Ferrari and the likely champion, Senna's team mate Alain Prost. Fourth place went to the Minardi of Pierluigi Martini, which was using Pirelli's quick qualifying tires while Philippe Alliot was fifth fastest in his Larrousse Lola Lamborghini. Riccardo Patrese was next for Williams followed by Nelson Piquet's Lotus, Martin Brundle (Brabham), the impressive Jean Alesi (Tyrrell) and Emanuele Pirro in the first of the Benettons.

Senna took the lead at the start and led from flag to flag with Berger behind him all the way and Prost apart from on one lap in the middle of the race when he pitted for new tires. Alesi finished fourth with Patrese fifth and Alliot sixth.

Senna victory meant that he closed up on Prost in the World Championship but Alain was 16 points ahead with two races remaining, Senna needed to win both.

Ayrton Senna McLaren-Honda  73 1h47m48.264s  
28 Gerhard Berger Ferrari  73 1h48m150315s  
Alain Prost McLaren-Honda  73 1h48m42.052s  
Jean Alesi Tyrrell-Cosworth  72  
Riccardo Patrese Williams-Renault  72  
30 Philippe Alliot Lola-Lamborghini  72  
22 Andrea de Cesaris Dallara-Cosworth  72  15 
11 Nelson Piquet Lotus-Judd  71  
Derek Warwick Arrows-Cosworth  71  16 
10 Jonathan Palmer Tyrrell-Cosworth  71  13 
10 Eddie Cheever Arrows-Cosworth  61 Engine 22 
20 Emanuele Pirro Benetton-Cosworth  59 Driver Discomfort (comfort)/spin 10 
21 Alex Caffi Dallara-Cosworth  55 Engine 23 
Martin Brundle Brabham-Judd  51 Rear Suspension/spin 
15 Mauricio Gugelmin March-Judd  47 Accident 26 
24 Luis Sala Minardi-Cosworth  47 Accident 20 
Thierry Boutsen Williams-Renault  40 Fuel Pump 21 
26 Olivier Grouillard Ligier-Cosworth  34 Engine 24 
23 Pierluigi Martini Minardi-Cosworth  27 Spin 
16 Ivan Capelli March-Judd  23 Differential 19 
37 JJ Lehto Onyx-Cosworth  20 Gearbox 17 
18 Piercarlo Ghinzani Osella-Cosworth  17 Gearbox 25 
19 Alessandro Nannini Benetton-Cosworth  14 Spin 14 
Stefano Modena Brabham-Judd  11 Electrics 12 
17 Nicola Larini Osella-Cosworth  Suspension/accident 11 
12 Satoru Nakajima Lotus-Judd  Accident 18 
nq 25 Rene Arnoux Ligier-Cosworth    27 
nq 39 Pierre-Henri Raphanel Rial-Cosworth    28 
nq 38 Gregor Foitek Rial-Cosworth    29 
npq 40 Gabriele Tarquini AGS-Cosworth    30 
npq 36 Stefan Johansson Onyx-Cosworth    31 
npq 31 Roberto Moreno Coloni-Cosworth    32 
npq 29 Michele Alboreto Lola-Lamborghini    33 
npq 34 Bernd Schneider Zakspeed-Yamaha    34 
npq 41 Yannick Dalmas AGS-Cosworth    35 
npq 35 Aguri Suzuki Zakspeed-Yamaha    36 
npq 33 Oscar Larrauri EuroBrun-Judd    37 
npq 32 Enrico Bertaggia Coloni-Cosworth    38