Italian GP 1989

SEPTEMBER 10, 1989

Italian GP, 1989

There was a lot of silly seasonaction at Monza with Alain Prost being confirmed at Ferrari, Nelson Piquet moving to Benetton and Derek Warwick and Martin Donnelly being confirmed as Team Lotus drivers in 1990, with Lamborghini V12 engines.

Jean Alesi was back in action with Tyrrell but otherwise the field was the same as it had been in Belgium except that EuroBrun had given up with Gregor Foitek and taken on Oscar Larrauri again.

. Ayrton Senna took pole for McLaren ahead of the Ferraris of Gerhard Berger and Nigel Mansell and Alain Prost in the second McLaren. The third row was shared by the two Williams-Renaults with Riccardo Patrese ahead of Thierry Boutsen with Philippe Alliot seventh in his Larrousse Lola and Sandro Nannini (Benetton) in eighth. The top 10 was completed by Emanuele Pirro in the second Benetton and Alesi in the Tyrrell.

The field went away in grid order and nothing changed until lap 16 when Nannini pitted for new tires. Gradually Prost closed in on Mansell and took third on lap 21 and second on lap 41. Four laps later Senna went out with an engine failure and so Prost inherited the victory with Berger second, Boutsen third, Patrese fourth, Alesi fifth and Martin Brundle (Brabham) sixth. The result meant that Prost was 20 points ahead in the World Championship with four races remaining.

Alain Prost McLaren-Honda  53 1h19m27.550s  
28 Gerhard Berger Ferrari  53 1h19m34.876s  
Thierry Boutsen Williams-Renault  53 1h19m42.525s  
Riccardo Patrese Williams-Renault  53 1h20m06.272s  
Jean Alesi Tyrrell-Cosworth  52  10 
Martin Brundle Brabham-Judd  52  12 
23 Pierluigi Martini Minardi-Cosworth  52  15 
24 Luis Sala Minardi-Cosworth  51  26 
25 Rene Arnoux Ligier-Cosworth  51  23 
10 12 Satoru Nakajima Lotus-Judd  51  19 
21 Alex Caffi Dallara-Cosworth  47 Engine 20 
22 Andrea de Cesaris Dallara-Cosworth  45 Engine 17 
Ayrton Senna McLaren-Honda  44 Engine/spin 
27 Nigel Mansell Ferrari  41 Gearbox 
37 Bertrand Gachot Onyx-Cosworth  38 Engine Overheating/spin 22 
19 Alessandro Nannini Benetton-Cosworth  33 Brakes 
16 Ivan Capelli March-Judd  30 Engine 18 
26 Olivier Grouillard Ligier-Cosworth  30 Exhaust 21 
11 Nelson Piquet Lotus-Judd  23 Spin 11 
Jonathan Palmer Tyrrell-Cosworth  18 Engine 14 
Derek Warwick Arrows-Cosworth  18 Engine 16 
17 Nicola Larini Osella-Cosworth  16 Gearbox 24 
29 Michele Alboreto Lola-Lamborghini  14 Electrics 13 
15 Mauricio Gugelmin March-Judd  14 Throttle Jammed 25 
30 Philippe Alliot Lola-Lamborghini  Throttle Jammed/spin 
20 Emanuele Pirro Benetton-Cosworth  Gearbox 
nq 10 Eddie Cheever Arrows-Cosworth    27 
nq 38 Christian Danner Rial-Cosworth    28 
nq 39 Pierre-Henri Raphanel Rial-Cosworth    29 
exc Stefano Modena Brabham-Judd   Missed Weight Check 30 
npq 36 Stefan Johansson Onyx-Cosworth    31 
npq 40 Gabriele Tarquini AGS-Cosworth    32 
npq 31 Roberto Moreno Coloni-Cosworth    33 
npq 18 Piercarlo Ghinzani Osella-Cosworth    34 
npq 34 Bernd Schneider Zakspeed-Yamaha    35 
npq 35 Aguri Suzuki Zakspeed-Yamaha    36 
npq 33 Oscar Larrauri EuroBrun-Judd    37 
npq 41 Yannick Dalmas AGS-Cosworth    38 
npq` 32 Enrico Bertaggia Coloni-Cosworth    39