German GP 1989

JULY 30, 1989

German GP, 1989

In the fortnight between the British and German GPs there was a major shakeup at Team Lotus. The team had been hugely disappointing in 1989 and the result was that Peter Warr was ousted. Also removed was chairman Fred Bushell who was arrested for his part in the DeLorean scandal. To replace them the Chapman Family chose Tony Rudd to head the team with daily control passing to Rupert Manwaring. Michele Alboreto arrived to drive for Larrousse.

Qualifying had the usual look with the McLaren-Hondas of Ayrton Senna and Alain Prost ahead of the Ferraris of Nigel Mansell and Gerhard Berger. The third row was an all-Williams affair with Riccardo Patrese ahead of Thierry Boutsen while Sandro Nannini (Benetton) was next, ahead of Nelson Piquet (Lotus), Emanuele Pirro's Benetton and the Tyrrell of Jean Alesi. Also showing well was Olivier Grouillard's Ligier in 11th.

At the start Berger took the lead but it was only moments before he was behind the McLaren-Hondas again, Senna leading Prost. That remained the position until Prost pitted for tires. Senna then came in and had a long stop and so Prost emerged in the lead and stayed there until the closing laps when Senna managed to get ahead when Prost hit gearbox trouble. It was another McLaren 1-2 with Mansell third after Berger disappeared when a tire deflated and he crashed. Patrese was fourth with Piquet fifth and Derek Warwick sixth in his Arrows.

Ayrton Senna McLaren-Honda  45 1h21m43.302s  
Alain Prost McLaren-Honda  45 1h22m01.453s  
27 Nigel Mansell Ferrari  45 1h23m06.556s  
Riccardo Patrese Williams-Renault  44  
11 Nelson Piquet Lotus-Judd  44  
Derek Warwick Arrows-Cosworth  44  17 
22 Andrea de Cesaris Dallara-Cosworth  44  21 
Martin Brundle Brabham-Judd  44  12 
23 Pierluigi Martini Minardi-Cosworth  44  13 
10 Jean Alesi Tyrrell-Cosworth  43  10 
11 25 Rene Arnoux Ligier-Cosworth  42  23 
10 Eddie Cheever Arrows-Cosworth  40 Fuel Pick-up 25 
Stefano Modena Brabham-Judd  37 Engine 16 
12 Satoru Nakajima Lotus-Judd  36 Spin 18 
16 Ivan Capelli March-Judd  32 Electronics 22 
15 Mauricio Gugelmin March-Judd  28 Gearbox 14 
20 Emanuele Pirro Benetton-Cosworth  26 Accident 
30 Philippe Alliot Lola-Lamborghini  20 Oil Leak/fire 15 
Jonathan Palmer Tyrrell-Cosworth  16 Throttle Linkage 19 
28 Gerhard Berger Ferrari  13 Puncture/accident 
36 Stefan Johansson Onyx-Cosworth  Rear Wheel Bearing 24 
19 Alessandro Nannini Benetton-Cosworth  Electrical Sensor 
Thierry Boutsen Williams-Renault  Accident 
21 Alex Caffi Dallara-Cosworth  Electrics 20 
29 Michele Alboreto Lola-Lamborghini  Electrics 26 
26 Olivier Grouillard Ligier-Cosworth  Input Shaft 11 
nq 24 Luis Sala Minardi-Cosworth    27 
nq 37 Bertrand Gachot Onyx-Cosworth    28 
nq 38 Christian Danner Rial-Cosworth    29 
exc 39 Volker Weidler Rial-Cosworth    30 
npq 41 Yannick Dalmas AGS-Cosworth    31 
npq 17 Nicola Larini Osella-Cosworth    32 
npq 40 Gabriele Tarquini AGS-Cosworth    33 
npq 18 Piercarlo Ghinzani Osella-Cosworth    34 
npq 31 Roberto Moreno Coloni-Cosworth    35 
npq 32 Pierre-Henri Raphanel Coloni-Cosworth    36 
npq 33 Gregor Foitek EuroBrun-Judd    37 
npq 35 Aguri Suzuki Zakspeed-Yamaha    38 
npq 34 Bernd Schneider Zakspeed-Yamaha    39