Monaco GP 1989

MAY 7, 1989

Monaco GP, 1989

With Gerhard Berger out of action after his huge accident at Imola, Ferrari decided to run only one car in Monte Carlo. Tyrrell had completed a pair of the new 018 chassis for Jonathan Palmer and Michele Alboreto and the new cars looked promising.

But at the front it was the usual story of Ayrton Senna leading Alain Prost in the two McLaren-Hondas. Thierry Boutsen was third in his Williams with Martin Brundle's Brabham fourth ahead of Nigel Mansell's Ferrari, Derek Warwick's Arrows, Riccardo Patrese's Williams, Stefano Modena's Brabham and the two Dallaras of Alex Caffi and and Andrea de Cesaris.

Before the start Patrese failed to get his Renault engine fired up and so had to start from the back of the grid. At the start Senna took the lead from Prost with Boutsen third and Mansell fourth. The two McLarens remained at the front all afternoon with Senna winning without any real challenge to his domination. Prost was second but Boutsen dropped behind Mansell and then Brundle. De Cesaris then moved up to run fourth ahead of Mansell before he collided with Nelson Piquet as he tried to lap the Lotus. This moved Modena to fourth and this became third when Brundle had to pit to sort out a misfire. Stefano finished third ahead of Caffi, Alboreto's Tyrrell and the recovering Brundle.

Ayrton Senna McLaren-Honda  77 1h53m33.251s  
Alain Prost McLaren-Honda  77 1h54m25.780s  
Stefano Modena Brabham-Judd  76  
21 Alex Caffi Dallara-Cosworth  75  
Michele Alboreto Tyrrell-Cosworth  75  12 
Martin Brundle Brabham-Judd  75  
10 Eddie Cheever Arrows-Cosworth  75  20 
19 Alessandro Nannini Benetton-Cosworth  74  15 
Jonathan Palmer Tyrrell-Cosworth  74  23 
10 Thierry Boutsen Williams-Renault  74  
16 Ivan Capelli March-Judd  73 Electrics/fire 22 
12 25 Rene Arnoux Ligier-Cosworth  73  21 
13 22 Andrea de Cesaris Dallara-Cosworth  73  10 
14 20 Johnny Herbert Benetton-Cosworth  73  24 
15 Riccardo Patrese Williams-Renault  73  
24 Luis Sala Minardi-Cosworth  48 Engine/fire 26 
40 Gabriele Tarquini AGS-Cosworth  46 Electrics 13 
31 Roberto Moreno Coloni-Cosworth  44 Gearbox Pinion 25 
30 Philippe Alliot Lola-Lamborghini  38 Engine 17 
15 Mauricio Gugelmin March-Judd  36 Engine 14 
11 Nelson Piquet Lotus-Judd  32 Accident 19 
27 Nigel Mansell Ferrari  30 Gearbox 
32 Pierre-Henri Raphanel Coloni-Cosworth  19 Gearbox 18 
26 Olivier Grouillard Ligier-Cosworth  Gearbox 16 
23 Pierluigi Martini Minardi-Cosworth  Clutch 11 
Derek Warwick Arrows-Cosworth  Electrics/fire 
nq 38 Christian Danner Rial-Cosworth    27 
nq 29 Yannick Dalmas Lola-Lamborghini    28 
nq 12 Satoru Nakajima Lotus-Judd    29 
npq 18 Piercarlo Ghinzani Osella-Cosworth    30 
npq 36 Stefan Johansson Onyx-Cosworth    31 
npq 17 Nicola Larini Osella-Cosworth    32 
npq 34 Bernd Schneider Zakspeed-Yamaha    33 
npq 37 Bertrand Gachot Onyx-Cosworth    34 
npq 33 Gregor Foitek EuroBrun-Judd    35 
npq 39 Volker Weidler Rial-Cosworth    36 
npq 35 Aguri Suzuki Zakspeed-Yamaha    37 
npq 41 Joachim Winkelhock AGS-Cosworth    38