Italian GP 1990


Italian GP, 1990

Ayrton Senna's pole position at Monza was one of his greatest achievements, after a stirring battle with rival Alain Prost in the Ferrari. In the end the McLaren-Honda driver was 0.4sec faster but the effort drained him completely. Gerhard Berger, his McLaren team mate, had to settle for third on this occasion while Nigel Mansell was fourth for Ferrari. Next came the incredible Jean Alesi, (Tyrrell), the two Williams-Renaults (Thierry Boutsen ahead of Riccardo Patrese), the two Benettons (Sandro Nannini quicker than Nelson Piquet again) and Mauricio Gugelmin in the Leyton House.

At the start Senna pulled clear of Berger at the front, but it was Alesi who grabbed the spotlight. He passed Mansell going into the first chicane. Around the Curva Grande he squeezed up behind Prost. He jinked from side to side, leaving Alain searching his mirrors and went through as they braked for the second chicane.

At the end of the lap, however, Derek Warwick went off at the Parabolica, turning his Lotus upside-down. The race was red-flagged and stopped. Warwick emerged from the wreck, ran back to the pits for his spare car and was soon back on the grid.

At the restart Senna got the drop again and, once again, Alesi overtook Mansell as they braked for the first chicane. Out into the Curva Grande Jean was sizing up Prost again and pulled off a second brilliant manoeuvre. Alesi was third again. It didn't last long. Jean spun out on the fifth lap. By that point Senna and Berger were long gone. Berger began to fade as his brakes went off and Prost moved on to his tail and on lap 21 he was ahead. The rest of the race was really no more than a procession. No matter what Prost did, Senna could match it.

Boutsen disappeared when his suspension failed. Then the Benetton team fell over itself when Nannini came in to change tyres. As he was sitting in his pit, Piquet arrived behind him with a puncture. By the time it was all sorted out both cars were out of the reckoning.

Behind Senna and Prost, Berger hobbled along in third with Mansell, fighting with a faulty throttle return spring, ahead of Patrese and Satoru Nakajima.

27 Ayrton Senna McLaren-Honda  53 1h17m57.878s  
Alain Prost Ferrari  53 1h18m03.932s  
28 Gerhard Berger McLaren-Honda  53 1h18m05.282s  
Nigel Mansell Ferrari  53 1h18m54.097s  
Riccardo Patrese Williams-Renault  53 1h19m23.152s  
Satoru Nakajima Tyrrell-Cosworth  52  14 
20 Nelson Piquet Benetton-Cosworth  52  
19 Alessando Nannini Benetton-Cosworth  52  
10 Alex Caffi Arrows-Cosworth  51  21 
10 22 Andrea de Cesaris Dallara-Cosworth  51  25 
11 25 Nicola Larini Ligier-Cosworth  51  26 
12r Michele Alboreto Arrows-Cosworth  50 Spin 22 
13 26 Philippe Alliot Ligier-Cosworth  50  20 
nc 18 Yannick Dalmas AGS-Cosworth  45  24 
16 Ivan Capelli Leyton House-Judd  36 Fuel Pump 16 
30 Aguri Suzuki Lola-Lamborghini  36 Electrics 18 
14 Olivier Grouillard Osella-Cosworth  27 Wheel Bearing 23 
15 Mauricio Gugelmin Leyton House-Judd  24 Engine  10 
Stefano Modena Brabham-Judd  21 Valve  17 
Thierry Boutsen Williams-Renault  18 Suspension 
11 Derek Warwick Lotus-Lamborghini  15 Clutch 12 
21 Gianni Morbidelli Dallara-Cosworth  14 Gearbox/spin 19 
12 Martin Donnelly Lotus-Lamborghini  13 Engine 11 
29 Eric Bernard Lola-Lamborghini  10 Clutch 13 
23 Pierluigi Martini Minardi-Cosworth  Spin/rear Suspension 15 
Jean Alesi Tyrrell-Cosworth  Spin 
nq 17 Gabriele Tarquini AGS-Cosworth    27 
nq 24 Paolo Barilla Minardi-Cosworth    28 
nq David Brabham Brabham-Judd    29 
nq 31 Bertrand Gachot Coloni-Subaru    30 
npq 33 Roberto Moreno EuroBrun-Judd    31 
npq 34 Claudio Langes EuroBrun-Judd    32 
npq 39 Bruno Giacomelli Life    33