Hungarian GP 1988

AUGUST 7, 1988

Hungarian GP, 1988

The tight and twisty Hungaroring track offered a small ray of hope for the non-turbo cars but no-one could get close to Ayrton Senna's McLaren-Honda, the Brazilian taking pole by a tenth of a second from Nigel Mansell in his Williams-Judd. Thierry Boutsen was third fastest in his Benetton-Ford with Ivan Capelli fourth in his March-Judd ahead of Sandro Nannini's Benetton, Riccardo Patrese in the second Williams, Alain Prost in the second McLaren and Mauricio Gugelmin's March. The top 10 was completed by Gerhard Berger's Ferrari and the Dallara of Alex Caffi.

At the start Mansell made a good start but Senna used the extra power of his Honda engine to get ahead by the time they arrived at the first corner. That was the end of it. Ayrton drove away to win. Mansell chased early on with Patrese third followed by the two Benettons and Berger but Prost moved his way up while Mansell had a spin and dropped back, leaving Patrese to lead the chase until a misfire dropped him back behind Boutsen and Prost. The Belgian was then overtaken by Prost and he began to close on Senna and challenged for the lead. He got ahead but overshot and so Senna went back into the lead and stayed there until the flag, although Prost was right behind him. Boutsen took third, Berger fourth, Gugelmin fifth and Patrese sixth.

12 Ayrton Senna McLaren-Honda  76 1h57m47.081s  
11 Alain Prost McLaren-Honda  76 1h57m47.610s  
20 Thierry Boutsen Benetton-Cosworth  76 1h58m18.491s  
28 Gerhard Berger Ferrari  76 1h59m15.751s  
15 Mauricio Gugelmin March-Judd  75  
Riccardo Patrese Williams-Judd  75  
Satoru Nakajimi Lotus-Honda  73  19 
Nelson Piquet Lotus-Honda  73  13 
29 Yannick Dalmas Lola-Cosworth  73  17 
10 24 Luis Sala Minardi-Cosworth  72  11 
11 33 Stefano Modena EuroBrun-Cosworth  72  26 
12 30 Philippe Alliot Lola-Cosworth  72  20 
13 31 Gabriele Tarquini Coloni-Cosworth  71  22 
17 Derek Warwick Arrows-Megatron  65 Brakes 12 
Nigel Mansell Williams-Judd  60 Driver Exhausted 
18 Eddie Cheever Arrows-Megatron  55 Brakes 14 
27 Michele Alboreto Ferrari  40 Engine 15 
25 Rene Arnoux Ligier-Judd  32 Engine 25 
22 Andrea de Cesaris Rial-Cosworth  28 Cv Joint 18 
19 Alessandro Nannini Benetton-Cosworth  24 Water Pipe  
36 Alex Caffi Dallara-Cosworth  22 Engine 10 
26 Stefan Johansson Ligier-Judd  19 Throttle Jammed 24 
23 Pierluigi Martini Minardi-Cosworth  Accident 16 
14 Philippe Streiff AGS-Cosworth  Suspension 23 
16 Ivan Capelli March-Judd  Misfire 
Jonathan Palmer Tyrrell-Cosworth  Engine 21 
nq 32 Oscar Larrauri EuroBrun-Cosworth    27 
nq 10 Bernd Schneider Zakspeed    28 
nq Julian Bailey Tyrrell-Cosworth    29 
nq Piercarlo Ghinzani Zakspeed    30 
npq 21 Nicola Larini Osella-Alfa Romeo    31