Dutch GP 1963

JUNE 23, 1963

Dutch GP, 1963

The field for the Dutch Grand Prix was much as normal although Ferrari had replaced Willy Mairesse with newcomer Lodovico Scarfiotti. BRM had a new car which was lighter than the Type 57 but it appeared only briefly. The ATS also turned up with some new bodywork but it made little difference to the cars which were not very competitive. Jim Clark was fastest in qualifying and shared the front row of the grid with Graham Hill's BRM and Bruce McLaren's Cooper. Jack Brabham put his Brabham fourth with John Surtees fifth fastest in his Ferrari.

At the start of the race Clark managed to maintain his position and went into the lead with Hill and McLaren chasing him. McLaren's challenge ended quickly when he ran into gearbox trouble and so Brabham moved to third place and on lap five he overtook Hill to take second. Brabham battled for second with Hill while behind them Surtees and Gurney tussled over fourth place. Hill reestablished himself in second while Brabham went out on lap 55 when his throttle became stuck with sand. Hill then ran into overheating trouble and had to stop and so Surtees and Gurney were able to get ahead. On lap 63 Surtees made a mistake and allowed Gurney ahead. Hill fought back and was about to pass Gurney for second when the BRM went out with engine failure.

This left Clark as the dominant victor with Gurney second and Surtees third. Ireland brought the BRP-BRM home in fourth position while Scarfiotti ended the day in sixth behind Ginther.

Jim Clark Lotus-Climax 25 80 2h08m13.700s  
18 Dan Gurney Brabham-Climax BT7 79  14 
John Surtees Ferrari 156 79  
30 Innes Ireland BRP-BRM MK 1 79  
14 Richie Ginther BRM P57 79  
Ludovico Scarfiotti Ferrari 156 78  11 
36 Jo Siffert Lotus-BRM 24 77  17 
42 Jim Hall Lotus-BRM 24 77  18 
32 Carel Godin de Beaufort Porsche 718 75  19 
12 Graham Hill BRM P57 69 Engine 
16 Jack Brabham Brabham-Climax BT7 68 Spin 
10 Trevor Taylor Lotus-Climax 25 66  10 
11 28 Jo Bonnier Cooper-Climax T60 56  
10 Chris Amon Lola-Climax MK 4A 29 Mechanical 12 
26 Giancarlo Baghetti ATS 100 17 Ignition 15 
24 Phil Hill ATS 100 15 Mechanical 13 
22 Tony Maggs Cooper-Climax T66 14 Overheating 
20 Bruce McLaren Cooper-Climax T66 Gearbox 
34 Gerhard Mitter Porsche 718 Clutch 16