Dutch GP 1960

JUNE 6, 1960

Dutch GP, 1960

Although there were disputes over prize money and several teams withdrew after qualifying, there was still a decent field for the race with Stirling Moss on pole position in his Walker Lotus-Climax. Jack Brabham was alongside in his Cooper-Climax and Innes Ireland was on the outside of the front row in his factory Lotus 18. The BRMs of Jo Bonnier and Graham Hill shared the second row.

Brabham made the best start and led Moss and Ireland with Team Lotus's Alan Stacey up from the third row on the grid and Phil Hill sixth in his Ferrari from the fourth row. Stacey passed Ireland on the second lap but Innes soon took back the place while Bruce McLaren moved ahead of Phil Hill in the his Cooper. He would retire early however with a driveshaft problem.

Dan Gurney moved into fifth in his BRM but he crashed at the hairpin after a brake failure. A spectator in a prohibited area was killed.

Jim Clark had made rapid progress in the early laps and took Gurney's fifth place behind his Lotus teammates Ireland and Stacey.

On lap 17 Brabham's car threw up part of a curb and this hit Moss's car and caused a puncture and damage to the wheel hub. Moss had to pit for repairs. He drove a storming comeback.

Up front the order remained static until Graham Hill passed Clark who retired soon afterwards with gearbox failure. Stacey would disappear with a similar problem later on leaving Hill to finish third, just ahead of the charging Moss.

The Ferraris of Phil Hill and Ritchie Ginther were fifth and sixth but were a lap behind the leaders.

11 Jack Brabham Cooper-Climax T53 75 2h01m47.200s  
Innes Ireland Lotus-Climax 18 75 2h02m11.200s  
16 Graham Hill BRM P48 75 2h02m43.800s  
Stirling Moss Lotus-Climax 18 75 2h02m44.900s  
Wolfgang von Trips Ferrari D246 74  15 
Richie Ginther Ferrari D246 74  12 
10 Henry Taylor Cooper-Climax T51 70  14 
20 Carel Godin de Beaufort Cooper-Climax T51 69  17 
Alan Stacey Lotus-Climax 18 57 Transmission 
Phil Hill Ferrari D246 54 Engine 13 
14 Jo Bonnier BRM P48 54 Engine/ Accident 
Jim Clark Lotus-Climax 18 42 Transmission 11 
18 Maurice Trintignant Cooper-Maserati T51 39 Gearbox 16 
15 Dan Gurney BRM P48 11 Brakes/ Accident 
Chris Bristow Cooper-Climax T51 Engine 
12 Bruce McLaren Cooper-Climax T53 Mechanical 
Tony Brooks Cooper-Climax T51 Gearbox 10 
ns 22 Chuck Daigh Scarab   Starting Money Dispute 18 
ns 21 Lance Reventlow Scarab   Starting Money Dispute 19 
ns 17 Roy Salvadori Aston Martin DBR4  Starting Money Dispute 20 
ns 19 Masten Gregory Cooper-Maserati T51  Starting Money Dispute 21