Belgian GP 1988

AUGUST 28, 1988

Belgian GP, 1988

In the three weeks between the Hungarian GP and Spa Enzo Ferrari died, depriving Grand Prix racing of its most famous personality. When the teams gathered at Spa Nigel Mansell was missing, out of action with chicken pox and so Williams asked Martin Brundle to stand in. On the wide open spaces of Spa there was little hope that anyone would be able to beat the two McLaren-Hondas and Ayrton Senna was on pole from his team mate Alain Prost and Gerhard Berger's Ferrari. Michele Alboreto was fourth in the second Ferrari ahead of Riccardo Patrese's Williams, the Benettons of Thierry Boutsen and Sandro Nannini. Satoru Nakajima had a good day in his Lotus to qualify eighth, ahead of his team mate Nelson Piquet and Derek Warwick's Arrows-Megatron. Brundle was 12th.

Prost and Senna had agreed not to make a mess of things in the La Source hairpin. Prost made the better start and Senna let him the corner. Through Eau Rouge Senna was faster and on the long drag up the hill he pulled alongside Prost and went ahead when they braked for the Les Combes corner. Senna would not be headed again and all Prost could do was follow him to the flag. Berger was ahead of Alboreto for just a couple of laps before he began to have trouble and dropped behind his team mate. The Austrian would retire after only 11 laps. Alboreto stayed third until he went out with engine failure on lap 36. That left Boutsen to finish third with Nannini fourth, Ivan Capelli fifth and Piquet sixth.

After the race the Benettons were found to have infringed fuel regulations and the cars were excluded from the event.

12 Ayrton Senna McLaren-Honda  43 1h28m00.549s  
11 Alain Prost McLaren-Honda  43 1h28m31.019s  
dq 20 Thierry Boutsen Benetton-Cosworth  43 Fuel Irregularities  
dq 19 Alessandro Nannini Benetton-Cosworth  43 Fuel Irregularities  
16 Ivan Capelli March-Judd  43 1h29m16.317s  14 
Nelson Piquet Lotus-Honda  43 1h29m24.177s  
17 Derek Warwick Arrows-Megatron  43 1h29m25.904s  10 
18 Eddie Cheever Arrows-Megatron  42  11 
Martin Brundle Williams-Judd  42  12 
36 Alex Caffi Dallara-Cosworth  42  15 
30 Philippe Alliot Lola-Cosworth  42  16 
10 14 Philippe Streiff AGS-Cosworth  42  18 
11r 26 Stefan Johansson Ligier-Judd  39 Crown Wheel & Pinion 20 
12r Jonathan Palmer Tyrrell-Cosworth  39 Throttle Linkage 21 
13r 10 Bernd Schneider Zakspeed  38 Gearbox 25 
nc 31 Gabriele Tarquini Coloni-Cosworth  36  22 
27 Michele Alboreto Ferrari  35 Engine 
Riccardo Patrese Williams-Judd  30 Engine 
15 Mauricio Gugelmin March-Judd  29 Clutch/accident 13 
Piercarlo Ghinzani Zakspeed  25 Oil Leak 24 
Satoru Nakajimi Lotus-Honda  22 Engine 
21 Nicola Larini Osella-Alfa Romeo  14 Fuel Pump 26 
28 Gerhard Berger Ferrari  11 Electronics 
29 Yannick Dalmas Lola-Cosworth  Engine 23 
22 Andrea de Cesaris Rial-Cosworth  Accident 19 
25 Rene Arnoux Ligier-Judd  Accident 17 
nq 24 Luis Sala Minardi-Cosworth    27 
nq 23 Pierluigi Martini Minardi-Cosworth    28 
nq 33 Stefano Modena EuroBrun-Cosworth    29 
nq Julian Bailey Tyrrell-Cosworth    30 
npq 32 Oscar Larrauri EuroBrun-Cosworth    31