Mexican GP 1989

Mexican GP, 1989

Gerhard Berger was back in action a month after his fiery accident at Imola. After pre-qualifying Stefan Johansson had finally managed to get his Onyx into a race after four attempts. At the front, however, it was business as usual with McLaren Honda driver Ayrton Senna on pole from his team mate Alain Prost. Nigel Mansell was third fastest with Ivan Capelli fourth, Riccardo Patrese fifth, Gerhard Berger sixth and Michele Alboreto (Tyrrell) seventh. The top 10 was completed by Thierry Boutsen (Williams), Stefano Modena (Brabham) and Derek Warwick (Arrows).

At the start Senna went into the lead with Mansell getting the better of Prost to grab second place. At the end of the lap, however, Stefano Modena spun his Brabham in the last corner and Olivier Grouillard (Ligier), Alex Caffi (Scuderia Italia Dallara) and Ivan Capelli (March) were also involved and so the race was red-flagged. At the second start Senna led Prost and Berger with Mansell fourth. The Englishman soon moved ahead of the Austrian and then he found himself in second place when Prost pitted for new tires. As Berger had disappeared with hydraulic trouble, Patrese moved to third place and this became second when Mansell went out after 43 laps with gearbox trouble. Alboreto finished third with Sanro Nannini fourth for Benetton, the recovering Prost fifth and Gabriele Tarquini (AGS) taking sixth place.

Ayrton Senna McLaren-Honda  69 1h35m21.431s  
Riccardo Patrese Williams-Renault  69 1h35m36.991s  
Michele Alboreto Tyrrell-Cosworth  69 1h35m52.685s  
19 Alessandro Nannini Benetton-Cosworth  69 1h36m06.926s  13 
Alain Prost McLaren-Honda  69 1h36m17.544s  
40 Gabriele Tarquini AGS-Cosworth  68  17 
10 Eddie Cheever Arrows-Cosworth  68  24 
26 Olivier Grouillard Ligier-Cosworth  68  11 
Martin Brundle Brabham-Judd  68  20 
10 Stefano Modena Brabham-Judd  68  
11 11 Nelson Piquet Lotus-Judd  68  26 
12 38 Christian Danner Rial-Cosworth  67  23 
13 21 Alex Caffi Dallara-Cosworth  67  19 
14 25 Rene Arnoux Ligier-Cosworth  66  25 
15 20 Johnny Herbert Benetton-Cosworth  66  18 
23 Pierluigi Martini Minardi-Cosworth  53 Engine 22 
27 Nigel Mansell Ferrari  43 Gearbox Hydraulic Fluid Loss 
Derek Warwick Arrows-Cosworth  35 Electrics 10 
12 Satoru Nakajima Lotus-Judd  35 Gearbox/spin 15 
nc 30 Philippe Alliot Lola-Lamborghini  28  16 
22 Andrea de Cesaris Dallara-Cosworth  20 Fuel Pump 12 
28 Gerhard Berger Ferrari  16 Gearbox Hydraulic Fluid Loss 
36 Stefan Johansson Onyx-Cosworth  16 Clutch 21 
Thierry Boutsen Williams-Renault  15 Electrics 
Jonathan Palmer Tyrrell-Cosworth  Throttle Linkage 14 
16 Ivan Capelli March-Judd  Cv Joint 
nq 24 Luis Sala Minardi-Cosworth    27 
nq 15 Mauricio Gugelmin March-Judd    28 
nq 29 Yannick Dalmas Lola-Lamborghini    29 
nq 31 Roberto Moreno Coloni-Cosworth    30 
npq 37 Bertrand Gachot Onyx-Cosworth    31 
npq 33 Gregor Foitek EuroBrun-Judd    32 
npq 17 Nicola Larini Osella-Cosworth    33 
npq 39 Volker Weidler Rial-Cosworth    34 
npq 34 Bernd Schneider Zakspeed-Yamaha    35 
npq 35 Aguri Suzuki Zakspeed-Yamaha    36 
exc 18 Piercarlo Ghinzani Osella-Cosworth   Missed Weight Check 37 
npq 41 Joachim Winkelhock AGS-Cosworth    38 
npq 32 Pierre-Henri Raphanel Coloni-Cosworth    39