Italian GP 1988

Italian GP, 1988

With Nigel Mansell still out of action with chicken pox and Martin Brundle (who had replaced him at Spa) racing elsewhere for Jaguar, the Williams team turned to its occasional test driver Jean-Louis Schlesser for the Italian Grand Prix.

Ayrton Senna took his 10th pole position of the year ahead of his McLaren-Honda team mate Alain Prost. The second row was all-Ferrari with Gerhard Berger ahead of Michele Alboreto as usual. The third row featured by the Arrows-Megatron drivers Eddie Cheever ahead of Derek Warwick while the fourth row had Nelson Piquet (Lotus-Honda) ahead of Thierry Boutsen's Benetton. Completing the top 10 was Sandro Nannini's Benetton and Riccardo Patrese's Williams.

In the race Senna and Prost took off at the front as usual with the two Ferraris chasing. The order did not much change until Prost retired with an engine failure on lap 35. Senna stayed ahead until the closing laps when he was lapping the midfield. Arriving behind 11th-placed Schlesser he dived for what he thought was a gap. Schlesser had been trying to keep out of Senna's way but found that he had nowhere to go and the two cars collided. Senna spun. He was out and not only was there a leader other than a McLaren. There was a Ferrari 1-2. Monza went mad. Berger duly won from Alboreto with Cheever third, Warwick fourth, Ivan Capelli fifth and Boutsen sixth.

28 Gerhard Berger Ferrari  51 1h17m39.744s  
27 Michele Alboreto Ferrari  51 1h17m40.246s  
18 Eddie Cheever Arrows-Megatron  51 1h18m15.276s  
17 Derek Warwick Arrows-Megatron  51 1h18m15.858s  
16 Ivan Capelli March-Judd  51 1h18m32.266s  11 
20 Thierry Boutsen Benetton-Cosworth  51 1h18m39.622s  
Riccardo Patrese Williams-Judd  51 1h18m54.487s  10 
15 Mauricio Gugelmin March-Judd  51 1h19m12.310s  13 
19 Alessandro Nannini Benetton-Cosworth  50  
10r 12 Ayrton Senna McLaren-Honda  49 Accident 
11 Jean-Louis Schlesser Williams-Judd  49  22 
12 Julian Bailey Tyrrell-Cosworth  49  26 
13 25 Rene Arnoux Ligier-Judd  49  24 
11 Alain Prost McLaren-Honda  34 Engine 
30 Philippe Alliot Lola-Cosworth  33 Engine 20 
14 Philippe Streiff AGS-Cosworth  31 Gear Linkage 23 
10 Bernd Schneider Zakspeed  28 Engine 15 
22 Andrea de Cesaris Rial-Cosworth  27 Accident/front Suspension 18 
 Piercarlo Ghinzani Zakspeed  25 Engine 16 
36 Alex Caffi Dallara-Cosworth  24 Electrics 21 
29 Yannick Dalmas Lola-Cosworth  17 Spin/radiator 25 
23 Pierluigi Martini Minardi-Cosworth  15 Engine 14 
Satoru Nakajimi Lotus-Honda  14 Engine 12 
24 Luis Sala Minardi-Cosworth  12 Gearbox 19 
Nelson Piquet Lotus-Honda  11 Clutch/spin 
21 Nicola Larini Osella-Alfa Romeo  Engine 17 
nq Jonathan Palmer Tyrrell-Cosworth    27 
nq 26 Stefan Johansson Ligier-Judd    28 
nq 31 Gabriele Tarquini Coloni-Cosworth    29 
nq 33 Stefano Modena EuroBrun-Cosworth    30 
npq 32 Oscar Larrauri EuroBrun-Cosworth    31