Dutch GP 1971

Dutch GP, 1971

The cancellation of the Belgian Grand Prix (because the authorities had not done the safety work required) meant that the stop-and-go 1971 season had a month-long gap between Monaco and Holland (following six weeks between South Africa and Spain and five weeks between Spain and Monaco). Most of the teams decided to take part in a non-championship race at Hockenheim, although some of the drivers were busy at Le Mans or in CanAm. The race was won by Jacky Ickx's Ferrari.

For the Dutch GP Team Lotus lead driver Emerson Fittipaldi was out of action after a road accident in France and his place was taken by South African Dave Charlton. The team also entered a gas turbine car for F1 debutante Dave Walker. He crashed one of the conventional cars on Friday and this could not be repaired, so Charlton did not get a drive and Walker had to race the Lotus-Pratt & Whitney 56. The only other change in the entry was the appearance of local driver Gij Van Lennep in a third Surtees.

As usual it was Jackie Stewart versus the V12 cars with Ickx taking pole for Ferrari from Pedro Rodriguez (BRM). Stewart was on the outside of the front row in his Tyrrell-Cosworth) which had won two of the first three races of the year. The second row featured Clay Regazzoni's Ferrari and Chris Amon's Matra. This left Reine Wisell to be the second V8 car back on the third row, which the Lotus driver shared with John Surtees (Surtees) and Jo Siffert (BRM).

It was wet on Sunday. At the start Mario Andretti's Ferrari was missing because of a fuel pump problem. He did start the race but was a long way behind and retired after just a few laps.

At the start Ickx went ahead of Rodriguez, Stewart and Amon. Siffert blew his chances with a spin. On the second lap Amon spun out and on the third lap Stewart had a rare spin and dropped to eighth place. This left Regazzoni third and Surtees fourth ahead of Wisell. The Swede did not last long because a rear wheel worked loose and trying to solve the problem he reversed into the pitlane and was disqualified. As everyone else struggled Ickx and Rodriguez built up a big lead with Rodriguez moving ahead on the ninth lap. Their duel would continue for most of the afternoon but towards the end Ickx pulled away to win by nearly eight seconds. Regazzoni finished third.

Jacky Ickx Ferrari 312B2 70 1h56m20.090s  
Pedro Rodriguez BRM P160 70 1h56m28.080s  
Clay Regazzoni Ferrari 312B2 69  
16 Ronnie Peterson March-Cosworth 711 68  13 
23 John Surtees Surtees-Cosworth TS9 68  
Jo Siffert BRM P160 68  
10 Howden Ganley BRM P153 66  
30 Gijs van Lennep Surtees-Cosworth TS7 65  21 
21 Jean-Pierre Beltoise Matra Simca-Matra MS120B 65  11 
10 24 Graham Hill Brabham-Cosworth BT34 65  16 
11 Jackie Stewart Tyrrell-Cosworth 003 65  
12 26 Denny Hulme McLaren-Cosworth M19A 63  14 
nc 31 Henri Pescarolo March-Cosworth 711 62  15 
nc 22 Skip Barber March-Cosworth 711 60  24 
nc 28 Peter Gethin McLaren-Cosworth M19A 60  23 
19 Alex Soler-Roig March-Cosworth 711 57 Engine 17 
25 Tim Schenken Brabham-Cosworth BT33 39 Suspension 19 
Francois Cevert Tyrrell-Cosworth 002 29 Accident 12 
dq 29 Rolf Stommelen Surtees-Cosworth TS9 19 Push Start After Spin 10 
dq 14 Reine Wisell Lotus-Cosworth 72D 17 Reversed Into Pits 
18 Giovanni Galli March-Alfa Romeo 711 Accident 20 
15 David Walker Lotus-Pratt & Whitney 56B Accident 22 
Mario Andretti Ferrari 312B Engine 18 
20 Chris Amon Matra Simca-Matra MS120B Spin