Dutch GP 1961

Dutch GP, 1961

There was just a week between Monaco and the Dutch Grand Prix. The injured Innes Ireland was replaced at Team Lotus by Trevor Taylor but otherwise the field was much as it had been at Monaco with local hero Carel Godin de Beaufort getting a drive in one of the Porsches, entered by his Ecurie Maarsbergen. Ferrari monopolized the front row of the grid with Phil Hill on pole from Wolfgang Von Trips and Ritchie Ginther, while Stirling Moss's Walker Lotus and Graham Hill's BRM shared the second row.

At the start Von Trips took the lead with G Hill and P Hill behind him. Graham Hill soon began to fall back, dropping quickly behind Phil Hill and Jim Clark, who had stormed through the field from the fourth row to run fourth at the end of the first lap. Clark proceeded to battle for second place with the Ferrari and they exchanged places several times before Hill finally asserted himself. Further back G Hill battled with Moss and Ginther, but it was the Ferrari driver who emerged ahead for most of the race. On the last lap, however, Ginther went wide when his throttle stuck open and Moss was able to grab fourth.

The 1960 Dutch Grand Prix was not very interesting but nonetheless has a remarkable place in F1 history. Every starter finished the race and no-one went into the pits. Such reliability has never been achieved since.

Wolfgang von Trips Ferrari 156 75 2h01m52.100s  
Phil Hill Ferrari 156 75 2h01m53.100s  
15 Jim Clark Lotus-Climax 21 75 2h02m05.200s  10 
14 Stirling Moss Lotus-Climax 18 75 2h02m14.300s  
Richie Ginther Ferrari 156 75 2h02m14.400s  
10 Jack Brabham Cooper-Climax T55 75 2h03m12.200s  
12 John Surtees Cooper-Climax T53 75 2h03m18.800s  
Graham Hill BRM-Climax P48/57 75 2h03m21.900s  
Tony Brooks BRM-Climax P48/57 74  
10 Dan Gurney Porsche 787 74  
11 Jo Bonnier Porsche 787 73  11 
12 11 Bruce McLaren Cooper-Climax T55 73  13 
13 16 Trevor Taylor Lotus-Climax 18 73  14 
14 Carel Godin de Beaufort Porsche 718 72  15 
15 Hans Herrmann Porsche 718 72  12 
ns 17 Masten Gregory Cooper-Climax T53  Reserve Entry 16 
ns 18 Ian Burgess Lotus-Climax 18  Reserve Entry 17