Portuguese GP 1958

Portuguese GP, 1958

The Grand Prix circus gathered in Portugal three weeks after Peter Collins's fatal accident at the Nurburgring and Enzo Ferrari (who had lost Luigi Musso a few weeks before Collins) decided not to replace the English driver and so ran only two cars for Mike Hawthorn and Wolfgang Von Trips. The Vanwall team was stronger than ever with Stuart Lewis-Evans setting the fastest time around the Portuguese street track, which featured cobbled streets, tram lines and lamp posts. Hawthorn was second fastest and Stirling Moss completed the front row in his Vanwall, while Tony Brooks and Jean Behra (BRM) shared the second row and Jack Brabham (Cooper), Harry Schell (BRM) and Von Trips were on row three.

It was wet on race day but the track was drying when the race began and Moss got ahead at the start. Hawthorn was briefly in front before Moss reasserted himself and began to pull away. Behra was third. Hawthorn stopped for attention to his brakes and dropped behind the BRM but Behra's engine began to misfire and Hawthorn soon regained second place. Behra would then slip behind Lewis-Evans as well.

Stirling Moss Vanwall VW (57) 50 2h11m27.800s  
22 Mike Hawthorn Ferrari D246 50 2h16m40.550s  
Stuart Lewis-Evans Vanwall VW (57) 49  
Jean Behra BRM P25 49  
24 Wolfgang von Trips Ferrari D246 49  
10 Harry Schell BRM P25 49  
14 Jack Brabham Cooper-Climax T45 48  
12 Maurice Trintignant Cooper-Climax T43 48  
28 Carroll Shelby Maserati 250F 47 Brakes/ Accident 10 
16 Roy Salvadori Cooper-Climax T45 46  11 
Tony Brooks Vanwall VW (57) 36 Accident 
20 Graham Hill Lotus-Climax 16 25 Accident 12 
18 Cliff Allison Maserati 250F 15 Engine 13 
32 Jo Bonnier Maserati 250F Driver Ill 14 
30 Maria Teresa de Fillipis Maserati 250F Engine 15