Porsche wins Daytona 24 hours
Honda F1 website
Honda website

JANUARY 25, 2009

Porsche wins Daytona 24 hours

The polesitting Brumos Porsche of David Donohue, Buddy Rice, Antonio Garcia and Darren Law won the Daytona 24 hours this weekend, in the closest ever finish (0.167s) of the race, with the top four finishers on the same lap battling for the final two hours - Donohue passing Juan Pablo Montoya for the lead with 40 minutes left to go.

For Donohue the win comes 40 years after his father Mark Donohue won the event in 1969, the first father-son winners of the race.

Second place went to the ChipĀ Ganassi Lexus of Montoya, Scott Pruett and Memo Rojas, and third place went to other Brumos car of Hurley Haywood, Joao Barbosa, JC France and Terry Borcheller.

The Porsche GT3 of Patrick Long, Andy Lally, Jorg Bergmeister, RJ Valentine and Justin Marks won the GT class (finishing ninth overall) leading a Porsche sweep of the top three places.

Other stories for JANUARY 25, 2009