Monaco GP 1993

MAY 23, 1993

Monaco GP, 1993

There were no changes to the entry for the Monaco Grand Prix and although the Williams-Renaults had been dominant all-season, Ayrton Senna was the master of Monaco and was expected to win a record sixth victory there. Things began badly when Senna crashed heavily on Thursday when his car went out of control after hitting a bump at Ste Devote. This left senna with a bruised thumb but his time remained quickest. There was another accident on Saturday when his McLaren's active suspension system was playing up. In the end Alain Prost was on pole in his Williams with Michael Schumacher second for Benetton (the car having traction-control for the first time). Senna was third with Damon Hill (Williams) fourth ahead of an inspired Jean Alesi (Ferrari), Riccardo Patrese (Benetton), Gerhard Berger (Ferrari), Karl Wendlinger (Sauber) and Michael Andretti (McLaren).

Senna was not expecting to win because of his poor grid position and his sore thumb but he made a good start and stayed third behind Prost and Schumacher. Then came word that Prost had jumped the start and was to be given a 10-sec stop-go penalty. He stopped at the end of the 12th lap. To make matters worse he then stalled the car as he tried to rejoin and so ended up at the back of the field.

This left Schumacher with a comfortable lead over Senna and the rest. On lap 33, however, Schumacher went out with an hydraulic failure and so Senna was leading with a 15 second advantage over Hill. Senna stayed ahead for the rest of the race leading Hill home. He had survived an attack by Berger (which had put the Ferrari out) and so Alesi was third ahead of the recovering Prost and survivors Christian Fittipaldi (Minardi) and Martin Brundle (Ligier-Renault).

Ayrton Senna McLaren-Cosworth  78 1h52m10.947s  
Damon Hill Williams-Renault  78 1h53m03.065s  
27 Jean Alesi Ferrari  78 1h53m14.309s  
Alain Prost Williams-Renault  77  
23 Christian Fittipaldi Minardi-Cosworth  76  17 
25 Martin Brundle Ligier-Renault  76  13 
11 Alessando Zanardi Lotus-Cosworth  76  20 
Michael Andretti McLaren-Cosworth  76  
14 Rubens Barrichello Jordan-Hart  76  16 
10 Andrea de Cesaris Tyrrell-Yamaha  76  19 
11 24 Fabrizio Barbazza Minardi-Cosworth  75  25 
12 19 Philippe Alliot Larrousse-Lamborghini  75  15 
13 29 Karl Wendlinger Sauber-Ilmor  74  
14r 28 Gerhard Berger Ferrari  70 Accident 
12 Johnny Herbert Lotus-Cosworth  61 Accident 14 
Riccardo Patrese Benetton-Cosworth  53 Engine 
20 Erik Comas Larrousse-Lamborghini  51 Accident 10 
10 Aguri Suzuki Footwork-Mugen Honda  46 Accident 18 
Derek Warwick Footwork-Mugen Honda  43 Throttle 12 
Michael Schumacher Benetton-Cosworth  32 Suspension Hydraulics 
Ukyo Katayama Tyrrell-Yamaha  31 Oil Leak 22 
21 Michele Alboreto Lola-Ferrari  28 Gearbox 24 
30 JJ Lehto Sauber-Ilmor  23 Accident 11 
15 Thierry Boutsen Jordan-Hart  12 Suspension 23 
26 Mark Blundell Ligier-Renault  Suspension 21 
22 Luca Badoer Lola-Ferrari    26