Belgian GP 1993

Belgian GP, 1993

The Belgian Grand Prix meeting was dominated by a huge accident on Friday morning when Alex Zanardi hit the wall in Eau Rouge corner almost head-on at 150mph in his Lotus. The fact that he survived the impact was remarkable even though he would be out of action for some weeks afterwards because of deceleration-related problems. When you are travelling at high speed and suddenly stop, as in an accident, the brain can be damaged.

Qualifying was a familiar story with Alain Prost ahead of his Williams-Renault team mate Damon Hill with Michael Schumacher (Benetton) third and Jean Alesi fourth in his Ferrari. Ayrton Senna (McLaren) was a disconsolate fifth ahead of Footwork drivers Aguri Suzuki and Derek Warwick. The top 10 was completed by Riccardo Patrese (Benetton), JJ Lehto (Sauber) and Johnny Herbert (Lotus).

In the race Prost finally made a normal start (in contrast to his previous races) and led Hill. Benetton had a new automatic starting device but this malfunctioned on both cars and so the track was crowded behind them. Senna dived straight ahead of Schumacher, pushed Alesi out of the way and was up with Hill as they went into the hairpin for the first time. By the time the field set off downhill towards Eau Rouge Senna was second. Hill retook him on the second lap and before long he came under pressure from Schumacher who had charged back after his poor start. Alesi stopped on lap four, telling Ferrari the car was too dangerous to drive.

Prost led Hill with Senna and Schumacher fighting for third and then came Suzuki and Herbert. During the pit stops Schumacher overtook Senna, going onto the grass to do so.

During the second pit stops Prost was delayed by team confusion and traffic and Hill went ahead. Schumacher was able to steal second as Prost emerged from the pits. Schumacher tried to close the gap to Hill but it was hopeless. Prost was happy to collect points for third place with Senna fourth, Herbert fifth and Patrese sixth.

Damon Hill Williams-Renault  44 1h24m32.124s  
Michael Schumacher Benetton-Cosworth  44 1h24m35.792s  
Alain Prost Williams-Renault  44 1h24m47.112s  
Ayrton Senna McLaren-Cosworth  44 1h26m11.887s  
12 Johnny Herbert Lotus-Cosworth  43  10 
Riccardo Patrese Benetton-Cosworth  43  
25 Martin Brundle Ligier-Renault  43  11 
Michael Andretti McLaren-Cosworth  43  14 
30 JJ Lehto Sauber-Ilmor  43  
10r 28 Gerhard Berger Ferrari  42 Accident 16 
11r 26 Mark Blundell Ligier-Renault  42 Accident 15 
12 19 Philippe Alliot Larrousse-Lamborghini  42  18 
13 22 Luca Badoer Lola-Ferrari  42  24 
14 21 Michele Alboreto Lola-Ferrari  41  25 
15 Ukyo Katayama Tyrrell-Yamaha  40  23 
20 Erik Comas Larrousse-Lamborghini  37 Fuel Pump 19 
Derek Warwick Footwork-Mugen Honda  28 Electrics 
29 Karl Wendlinger Sauber-Ilmor  27 Engine 12 
Andrea de Cesaris Tyrrell-Yamaha  24 Engine 17 
23 Christian Fittipaldi Minardi-Cosworth  15 Accident 22 
24 Pierluigi Martini Minardi-Cosworth  15 Spin 21 
10 Aguri Suzuki Footwork-Mugen Honda  14 Suspension Hydraulics 
14 Rubens Barrichello Jordan-Hart  11 Wheel Bearing 13 
27 Jean Alesi Ferrari  Suspension 
15 Ivan Capelli Jordan-Hart  Gearbox 20 
ns 11 Alessando Zanardi Lotus-Cosworth   Accident/injury 26