San Marino GP 1983

San Marino GP, 1983

The entry was as it had been at the French GP a fortnight earlier except that RAM had gone back to one car for Eliseo Salazar. Osella had an Alfa Romeo V12 engine in Piercarlo Ghinzani's car but he failed to qualify. It being Italy a Ferrari was on pole and that honor went to Rene Arnoux who beat Nelson Piquet (Brabham-BMW) by seven-tenths of a second. The second Ferrari of Patrick Tambay was juts hundredths behind Piquet while Alain Prost (Renault) was a couple of tenths behind. Then came Riccardo Patrese (Brabham-BMW), Eddie Cheever (Renault), Manfred Winkelhock (ATS-BMW), Andrea de Cesaris (Alfa Romeo), Elio de Angelis (Lotus-Renault), and Mauro Baldi (Alfa Romeo). Keke Rosberg (Williams) was the fastest normally-aspirated runner in 11th place although he was just four-tenths quicker than Marc Surer's Arrows.

At the start Piquet stalled and so Arnoux took the lead from Tambay, Patrese, Prost and de Cesaris. Cheever went out early with an engine failure and it was quickly clear that the Brabham was the quickest car was Patrese took the lead on the sixth lap and led until his pit stop on lap 34. This was not a success as Riccardo overshot his mark and everything was badly delayed and so when he reemerged Tambay was in the lead. Piquet had charged back up to sixth but he then suffered an engine failure and so it was left to Patrese and Tambay to fight it out. With six laps to go Patrese went ahead at Tosa but at the top of the hill he made a mistake at Acque Minerale and ran off the road and into the barriers. Tambay was back in the lead and duly took an emotional victory. Prost was second with Arnoux third while Rosberg led the normally-aspirated cars as usual, finishing fourth ahead of John Watson (McLaren) and Marc Surer (Arrows).

27 Patrick Tambay Ferrari  60 1h37m52.460s  
15 Alain Prost Renault  60 1h38m41.241s  
28 Rene Arnoux Ferrari  59  
Keke Rosberg Williams-Cosworth  59  11 
John Watson McLaren-Cosworth  59  24 
29 Marc Surer Arrows-Cosworth  59  12 
Jacques Laffite Williams-Cosworth  59  16 
30 Chico Serra Arrows-Cosworth  58  20 
26 Raul Boesel Ligier-Cosworth  58  25 
10r 23 Mauro Baldi Alfa Romeo  57 Engine 10 
11 Manfred Winkelhock ATS-BMW  57  
12r 12 Nigel Mansell Lotus-Cosworth  56 Rear Wing/accident 15 
13r Riccardo Patrese Brabham-BMW  54 Accident 
22 Andrea de Cesaris Alfa Romeo  45 Distributor 
11 Elio de Angelis Lotus-Cosworth  43 Handling 
Nelson Piquet Brabham-BMW  41 Engine 
25 Jean-Pierre Jarier Ligier-Cosworth  39 Radiator 19 
Danny Sullivan Tyrrell-Cosworth  37 Accident 22 
35 Derek Warwick Toleman-Hart  27 Accident 14 
31 Corrado Fabi Osella-Cosworth  20 Accident 26 
36 Bruno Giacomelli Toleman-Hart  20 Rear Suspension 17 
Niki Lauda McLaren-Cosworth  11 Accident 18 
34 Johnny Cecotto Theodore-Cosworth  11 Accident 23 
Michele Alboreto Tyrrell-Cosworth  10 Accident/rear Suspension 13 
33 Roberto Guerrero Theodore-Cosworth  Accident 21 
16 Eddie Cheever Renault  Turbo 
nq 17 Eliseo Salazar RAM March-Cosworth    27 
nq 32 Piercarlo Ghinzani Osella-Cosworth    28