Swiss GP 1982

Swiss GP, 1982

There had not been a World Championship Swiss GP since 1954 and as motor racing was banned in the country the race had to be held at Dijon. This had been tried as a non-championship event in 1975 but was not repeated. The success of French drivers in F1, however, led to pressure for more French races and so the idea was revived if not for the Swiss for the sake of convenience.

The field was unchanged from the race in Austria and to no great surprise the Renaults were 1-2 on the grid with Alain Prost beating Rene Arnoux. Riccardo Patrese was third fastest in the Brabham-BMW while Niki Lauda led the normally-aspirated runners in his McLaren in fourth place. The top 10 was completed by Andrea de Cesaris (Alfa Romeo), Nelson Piquet (Brabham-BMW), Derek Daly and Keke Rosberg in their Williams's, Bruno Giacomelli in his Alfa and Patrick Tambay in the single Ferrari. Tambay, however, was in trouble with a pinched nerve in his back and was unable to race.

At the start everyone waited to see if Brabham would finally use its planned pit stop strategy but at the start the two Renaults were off and away with Prost slipping ahead of Arnoux, leaving Patrese to head Lauda and Piquet. Nelson soon made his way up to third place, followed by Rosberg. On lap 11 Piquet passed Arnoux for second but then the order was settled until lap 40 when Piquet came into the pits to refuel. The stop dropped him to fifth place but there he stayed until the closing laps when Arnoux's race came to and end with injection problems. This moved Rosberg to second and he was closing fast on Prost. On the penultimate lap the Finn went ahead but the organizers were so inefficient that they forgot to show the chequered flag and so Rosberg had to do an extra lap to make sure. Prost came home second with Luda third, Piquet fourth and Patrese fifth. The final point went to Elio de Angelis (Lotus).

It was Rosberg's first World Championship race victory and suddenly he was leading the World Championship as well.

Keke Rosberg Williams-Cosworth  80 1h32m41.087s  
15 Alain Prost Renault  80 1h32m45.529s  
Niki Lauda McLaren-Cosworth  80 1h33m41.430s  
Nelson Piquet Brabham-BMW  79  
Riccardo Patrese Brabham-BMW  79  
11 Elio de Angelis Lotus-Cosworth  79  15 
Michele Alboreto Tyrrell-Cosworth  79  12 
12 Nigel Mansell Lotus-Cosworth  79  26 
Derek Daly Williams-Cosworth  79  
10 22 Andrea de Cesaris Alfa Romeo  78  
11 Brian Henton Tyrrell-Cosworth  78  18 
12 23 Bruno Giacomelli Alfa Romeo  78  
13 John Watson McLaren-Cosworth  77  11 
14 10 Eliseo Salazar ATS-Cosworth  77  25 
15 29 Marc Surer Arrows-Cosworth  76  14 
16R 16 Rene Arnoux Renault  75 Fuel Injection 
nc 25 Eddie Cheever Talbot Ligier-Matra  70  16 
Manfred Winkelhock ATS-Cosworth  55 Engine Mounting 20 
31 Jean-Pierre Jarier Osella-Cosworth  44 Engine 17 
26 Jacques Laffite Talbot Ligier-Matra  33 Skirts/handling 13 
36 Teo Fabi Toleman-Hart  31 Engine Overheating 23 
18 Raul Boesel March-Cosworth  31 Gearbox Oil Leak 24 
17 Rupert Keegan March-Cosworth  25 Spin 22 
35 Derek Warwick Toleman-Hart  24 Engine 21 
14 Roberto Guerrero Ensign-Cosworth  Engine 19 
ns 27 Patrick Tambay Ferrari   Driver Unfit (neck Injury) 10 
nq 20 Chico Serra Fittipaldi-Cosworth    27 
nq 33 Tommy Byrne Theodore-Cosworth    28 
nq 30 Mauro Baldi Arrows-Cosworth    29