Mexican GP 1967

Mexican GP, 1967

The battle for the World Championship between Jack Brabham and Denny Hulme provided most of the interest the Brabham number two being five points ahead of his team leader with Brabham having to drop two points if he finished higher that fourth place. All Hulme had to do was to keep his team leader in sight and not make a mistake.

The field was much as standard although Ferrari finally decided to run a second car and sent Jonathan Williams over to partner Chris Amon. Jochen Rindt did not appear in the Cooper-Maserati because he was unhappy about the starting money and was leaving the team to join Brabham but Pedro Rodriguez was back in action, having recovered from his F2 crash at Enna in August.

Qualifying resulted in Jim Clark again fastest in the quick but unreliable Lotus 49 while Amon was alongside him. The second row featured Dan Gurney's Eagle-Weslake and Graham Hill's Lotus. The two Brabhams were side by side on row three with Jack Brabham just quicker than Hulme while John Surtees's Honda and Bruce McLaren's McLaren were on the fourth row.

The start saw Gurney run into the back of Clark, but the Lotus went away with only a bent exhaust while Gurney also rejoined by retired after a few laps with a damaged radiator. Clark soon passed Amon and then his team mate Hill and after that was able to dominate the race despite not having a clutch. Hill went out with a driveshaft failure on lap 18 so third place went to Brabham but he had Hulme behind him and so he knew that there was no chance of winning the World Championship. Amon stayed in second until the final few laps when the Ferrari began to misfire. This allowed Brabham, Hulme and Surtees to overtake him. He crossed the line in fifth place but was later dropped back to ninth because his final lap was too slow to be counted. This allowed Mike Spence to take fifth in his BRM and Rodriguez to take sixth.

Hulme won the World Championship, having scored 51 points to Brabham's 46 (although his actual total was 48).

Jim Clark Lotus-Cosworth 49 65 1h59m28.700s  
Jack Brabham Brabham-Repco BT24 65 2h00m54.060s  
Denny Hulme Brabham-Repco BT24 64  
John Surtees Honda RA300 64  
Mike Spence BRM P83 63  11 
21 Pedro Rodriguez Cooper-Maserati T81B 63  13 
22 Jean-Pierre Beltoise Matra-Cosworth MS7 63  14 
12 Jonathan Williams Ferrari 312 63  16 
Chris Amon Ferrari 312 62  
10 16 Jo Bonnier Cooper-Maserati T81 61  17 
11 19 Guy Ligier Brabham-Repco BT20 61  19 
12r 15 Jo Siffert Cooper-Maserati T81 59 Engine 10 
14 Bruce McLaren McLaren-BRM M5A 45 Engine 
17 Chris Irwin BRM P83 33 Mechanical 15 
Jackie Stewart BRM P115 24 Engine 12 
Graham Hill Lotus-Cosworth 49 18 Mechanical 
18 Moises Solana Lotus-Cosworth 49 12 Suspension  
11 Dan Gurney Eagle-Weslake T1G Radiator 
10 Mike Fisher Lotus-BRM 33 Mechanical 18