Honda F1 website
Honda website

Spanish GP 2009

MAY 10, 2009

Race Notes - Button wins Spanish GP in Brawn 1-2

Barrichello, Button, Webber, Spanish GP 2009
© The Cahier Archive

Jenson Button won the Spanish Grand Prix, in Barcelona, in his Brawn-Mercedes, ahead of his team mate Rubens Barrichello in second place by 13.0 seconds. Mark Webber finished third in the Red Bull-Renault, 13.9 seconds behind.

After following Felipe Massa for most of the race, Sebastian Vettel in his Red-Bull Renault finished in fourth place, 18.9s seconds behind, when the Brazilian backed off to save fuel in the final laps.

Fernando Alonso (43.1s) was fifth in the Renault, followed by Massa (50.8s) in the Ferrari in sixth, Nick Heidfeld (52.3s) in the Sauber BMW was seventh and Nico Rosberg (65.2s) in the Williams-Toyota finished in the final points paying position.

Button takes his fourth win in five races, his fifth career victory.

At the start Barrichello came from third to overtake polesitter Button into the first corner while Vettel was overtaken by Massa for third. Exiting the second corner Rosberg touches Jarno Trulli, sending the Italian wide into the gravel trap at the outside of the corner. Trulli then spins into oncoming traffic, coming together with Adrian Sutil. The two Toro Rossos collide taking out Sebastien Bourdais and Sebastien Buemi. The Safety Car is deployed. Trulli, Buemi, Bourdais and Sutil are out. Giancarlo Fisichella pits for fuel.

On lap 3 Kazuki Nakajima pits.

The order is Barrichello leading Button, Massa, Vettel, Webber, Alonso, Rosberg, Timo Glock, Heidfeld, Kimi Raikkonen, Heikki Kovalainen, Robert Kubica, Nelson Piquet, Lewis Hamilton, Fisichella and Nakajima.

At the end of lap 6 the Safety Car comes in and the race resumes. Into turn one Alonso passes Webber, but the Australian repasses to hold the spot.

On lap 7 Hamilton passes Piquet for 13th spot, while his team mate Kovalainen slows, and drives to the pits and retires.

At lap 10 Barrichello leads his team mate Button by one second, followed by Massa, Vettel, Webber, Alonso, Rosberg, Glock, Heidfeld and Raikkonen in tenth place.

Barrichello continues to put in fast laps, slowly edging out his lead over Button by tenths of a second.

On lap 18 Glock is the first to pit from 8th place, staying on the softer tyre.

On lap 19 Button and Alonso, make their first stop for soft tyres, while on the track Raikkonen slows and comes to a stop.

On lap 20 Barrichello pits from the lead making a short stop, rejoining in third ahead of Button. It appears that Button is on a heavier fuel load and a two-stop strategy while Barrichello is on a three-stop strategy. Webber also pits from fourth.

On lap 21 Massa and Vettel pit, coming out together, handing the lead over to Barrichello once more, with Rosberg in second place, yet to make his first stop.

On lap 22 Piquet pits from 11th place. Kubica pits from 8th on lap 24.

On lap 26 Rosberg makes his first stop from second place, rejoining in 9th.

At lap 26 Barrichello leads Button by 10.5 seconds, followed by Massa (13.4s), Vettel (14.4s), Heidfeld (18.8s), Hamilton (20.4s), Webber (23.2s), Alonso (26.4s), Rosberg (30.4s) and Fisichella (36.8s) in tenth place, with Heidfeld and Hamilton yet to pit.

On lap 31 Fisichella pits from 11th place.

On lap 32 Barrichello pits from the lead, another short stop, staying on soft tyres and rejoining in fourth place. Heidfeld and Hamilton both pit for their first stop, from fifth and seventh places. Hamilton rejoins right ahead of the battling Glock and Kubica.

At lap 35 Button leads Massa by 4.5 seconds, followed by Vettel (5.3s), Barrichello (9.6s), Webber (14.2s), Alonso (21.3s), Rosberg (27.0s), Heidfeld (36.8s), Nakajima (38.5s) and Hamilton (41.6s) in tenth place.

On lap 37 Nakajima makes his second stop from ninth place.

On lap 44 Massa and Vettel both pit at the same time once again from second and third places, coming out in the same order in fifth and sixth - switching to the harder tyre.

On lap 45 Alonso pits from fourth place, rejoining in eighth place, edging out Hamilton in the first corner to stay ahead.

At lap 46 Button leads his team mate Barrichello by 11.9 seconds, followed by Webber (14.9s), Massa (34.8s), Vettel (35.6s), Rosberg (36.1s), Heidfeld (42.6s), Alonso (56.0s), Hamilton (56.5s) and Glock (57.8s) in tenth place.

On lap 47 Kubica and Piquet pit. Glock makes his final stop the next lap.

On lap 48 leader Button makes his final stop and switches to the hard tyre. Hamilton pits the next lap. Rosberg pits from sixth place on lap 50.

On lap 51 Barrichello and Webber pit from the first two positions, rejoining in the same order in second and third - handing the lead back to Button. Heidfeld also pits from sixth place.

On lap 52 Nakajima makes his third stop from ninth place.

At lap 52 Button leads Barrichello by 8.1 seconds, followed by Webber (10.1s), Massa (15.9s), Vettel (16.2s), Alonso (36.2s), Heidfeld (41.5s), Rosberg (43.5s), Hamilton (64.4s) and Glock (65.7s) in tenth place.

Vettel continues to chase Massa, but seems unable to get close enough to make a passing attempt - while the Ferrari engineers tell Massa to conserve fuel or his will need to pit again.

Webber continues to slowly close in on Barrichello in second place, while Glock is chasing Hamilton for ninth place.

At lap 62 Button continues to lead Barrichello by 12.9 seconds, followed right behind by Webber (14.2s), Massa (23.8s), Vettel (24.1s), Alonso (40.9s), Heidfeld (51.8s), Rosberg (59.8s), Hamilton (81.9s) and Glock (83.1s) in tenth place.

On lap 64 Massa backs off his pace and lets Vettel past for fourth place - 13 seconds ahead of Alonso in sixth.

On the final lap Alonso passes Massa for fifth place.