Honda F1 website
Honda website

German GP 2009

JULY 12, 2009

Race Notes - Mark Webber takes first win at German GP

Sebastain Vettel, Mark Webber, German GP 2009
© The Cahier Archive

Mark Webber has scored his first career victory today at the German GP at the Nurburgring in his Red Bull-Renault. His team mate Sebastian Vettel finished second, 9.2 seconds behind, followed by Felipe Massa in his Ferrari in third place, 15.9 seconds behind.

Webber's first win follows his first pole on Saturday. Vettel and Webber jump past Barrichello for second and third in the Drivers Championship, but Vettel still trails Button by 21 points.

Nico Rosberg (21.0s) in the Williams-Toyota finished in fourth. Jenson Button (23.6s) in the Brawn-Mercedes was fifth, his team mate Rubens Barrichello (24.4s) was sixth, Fernando Alonso (24.8s) in the Renault was seventh and Heikki Kovalainen (58.6s) in the McLaren-Mercedes finished in the final points paying position.

Timo Glock starts from the pitlane, most drivers starting on the softer of the two tyre options. Alonso spins on the formation lap, but continues.

At the start Barrichello takes the lead from pole-sitter Webber into the first corner. Hamilton makes a great start with his KERS, and goes into the first corner with the leaders, but goes wide into first corner and touches Webber - his right rear tyre is punctured and he limps to the pits to change it. Kovalainen jumps into third.

On lap 2 Button passes Massa for fourth place.

On lap 3 Jarno Trulli pits.

At lap 3 Barrichello leads Webber. Kovalainen, Button, Massa, Vettel, Kimi Raikkonen, Adrian Sutil, Rosberg and Robert Kubica.

A line of cars start to form behind Kovalainen in third place.

On lap 8 Giancarlo Fisichella passes Nick Heidfeld for 12th place.

At lap 10 Barrichello leads Webber by 0.9 seconds, the pair breaking away from Kovalainen (14.9s), Button (15.1s), Massa (16.5s), Vettel (16.9s), Raikkonen (18.7s), Sutil (21.8s), Rosberg (25.3s) and Kubica (26.2s) in tenth place.

The stewards report that Webber and Barrichello are under investigation.

Webber is then given a drive-through penalty for "causing a collision" at the start.

On lap 13 Fisichella passes Alonso for 11th place.

On lap 14 Button is the first to make a pitstop from fourth place, rejoining in seventh.

On lap 15 Barrichello pits for tyres and fuel while Webber makes his drive-through penalty.

On lap 16 Kovalainen pits and rejoins in 15th place.

At lap 16 Webber leads Massa, Barrichello, Vettel, Raikkonen, Sutil, Rosberg, Kubica, Fisichella and Alonso.

On lap 18 Alonso pits from 10th place. Fisichella pits from 9th the next lap. Button passes Heidfeld for 10th place.

On lap 20 Webber pits from the lead with a 12 second gap on second place, and rejoins in eighth place.

At lap 20 Massa leads Barrichello by 0.4 seconds, followed by Vettel (2.3s), Raikkonen (3.2s), Sutil (4.7s), Rosberg (7.0s), Kubica (9.6s), Webber (11.4s), Button (12.2s) and Heidfeld (17.5s) in tenth place.

Sebastien Bourdais retires in the pits with a mechanical problem.

On lap 22 Vettel pits from fifth place, rejoining in 11th. Sebastien Buemi and Trulli pit as well.

Kubica, Webber and Button battle for sixth place.

On lap 24 Kubica pits. Raikkonen pits the next lap from fourth place.

On lap 25 Massa pits, handing the lead back to Barrichello - Sutil yet to pit is up to second place.

On lap 27 Heidfeld and Piquet pit. Sutil pits from second on the next lap. Sutil and Raikkonen make contact at the first corner - Sutil's front wing is damaged - he pits again to have it replaced.

On lap 30 Rosberg pits from third place, rejoining in 6th.

At lap 30 Barrichell leads Webber by 2.8 seconds, followed by Button (7.6s), Vettel (20.5s), Massa (21.5s), Rosberg (25.9s), Raikkonen (27.0s), Kovalainen (31.5s), Kazuki Nakajima (32.0s) and Fisichella (33.0s) in tenth place.

On lap 32 Button makes his second stop from third place. Nakajima makes his first stop.

On lap 33 Barrichello makes his second stop, handing the lead over the Webber, taking on the harder tyre and rejoining in fifth place ahead of Raikkonen.

On lap 34 Button passes Raikkonen for sixth place. Raikkonen slows and retires in the pits.

Brawn tells Barrichello that there was a fuel-rig problem on the stop - and that he does not have enough fuel to make the finish without another stop - the chance of a win looking very slim now.

Webber puts in a series of fastest laps to increase his lead. Glock is the last to make his first pitstop on lap 38.

On lap 41 Kovalainen pits from seventh place.

Hamilton reporting on his radio that rain is approaching. Heidfeld passes his team mate Kubica for 8th place.

At lap 41 Webber leads his team mate Vettel by 20.4 seconds, followed by Massa (22.7s), Rosberg (29.2s), Barrichello (31.9s), Button (33.5s), Alonso (45.8s), Heidfeld (55.9s), Kubica (58.8s) and Nelson Piquet (60.5s) in tenth place.

On lap 44 Webber makes his final stop from the lead with a 20 second gap to his team mate, rejoining in second place.

Vettel pits on the next lap, along with Kubica. Massa pits on lap 46, rejoining in seventh place. Alonso pits on the next lap from sixth place. Sutil pits from 11th.

On lap 48 Rosberg makes his final stop from second place, rejoining in sixth. Heidfeld and Piquet pit as well.

Alonso in seventh sets the fastest lap - the Spanish driver lapping a second faster than the rest of the field at this point.

On lap 50 Barrichello pits from second place, his team mate Button pits on the next lap - Button rejoining in fifth place ahead of Barrichello.

At lap 52 Webber lead Vettel by 15.6 seconds, followed by Massa (21.4s), Rosberg (26.7s), Button (30.2s), Barrichello (31.3s), Alonso (32.7s), Kovalainen (59.0s), Glock (59.6s) and Heidfeld (60.5s) in tenth place.

Webber cruises to the line to take his first Formula 1 victory.