Honda F1 website
Honda website

German GP 2008

JULY 20, 2008

Race Incidents

Timo Glock, German GP 2008
© The Cahier Archive

Lap 1: On pole position for the ninth time in his Formula One career, Lewis Hamilton makes a flying start to break away from Felipe Massa and Heikki Kovalainen. The Englishman leads by 1.8s at the lap's end. Robert Kubica gets away well to lie fourth from Jarno Trulli, Fernando Alonso, Kimi Raikkonen, Sebastian Vettel, Mark Webber, Timo Glock, Nick Heidfeld, Sebastien Bourdais, Jenson Button, Nico Rosberg, David Coulthard, Kazuki Nakajima, Rubens Barrichello, Nelson Piquet, Giancarlo Fisichella and Adrian Sutil.

Lap 2: The leader's advantage grows to 2.5s. Coulthard passes Rosberg. Barrichello passes Nakajima.

Lap 3: Sutil spins at Turn Eight.

Lap 4: Hamilton leads by 3.7s. Alonso has a sideways moment at Turn One and subsequently loses a place to Raikkonen.

Lap 6: Hamilton posts a 1m16.420s. His lead is 4.6s.

Lap 10: Hamilton laps in 1m16.078s and leads by 7.0s. Kovalainen is another 5.2s behind in third.

Lap 11: Sutil passes Fisichella for 19th.

Lap 13: Coulthard passes Button for 13th.

Lap 17: Hamilton posts a 1m16.039s: he leads by 11.0s. Nakajima spins at Turn Two and drops from 17th to 19th.

Lap 18: Hamilton and Kubica pit. Massa leads. Hamilton rejoins fourth, behind Trulli.

Lap 19: Trulli and Alonso pit.

Lap 20: Massa pits. Kovalainen leads by 10.2s from Hamilton.

Lap 21: Kovalainen pits. Hamilton regains the lead. Vettel and Coulthard pit, too.

Lap 22: Raikkonen pits. Kovalainen passes Heidfeld.

Lap 23: Webber and Bourdais pit.

Lap 25: Sutil pits.

Lap 27: Heidfeld, Button and Fisichella pit.

Lap 28: Hamilton leads by 10.5s from Massa and Glock, who has yet to stop. Rosberg pits.

Lap 29: Glock and Nakajima pit.

Lap 31: Barrichello pits.

Lap 32: Barrichello passes his team-mate Button.

Lap 34: Hamilton leads Massa, Kovalainen, Kubica, Raikkonen, Trulli, Vettel, Glock, Alonso, Webber, Heidfeld, Piquet, Bourdais, Coulthard, Rosberg, Barrichello and Button. Nakajima, Sutil and Fisichella are lapped.

Lap 35: Glock loses control at the final corner and he spins into the pit wall. Safety Car deployed. Piquet and Button pit.

Lap 38: Pit lane opens. Massa, Kovalainen, Raikkonen, Trulli, Vettel, Alonso, Webber, Coulthard, Bourdais, Rosberg and Fisichella all pit. Webber's engine is smoking as he rejoins.

Lap 39: Hamilton leads Heidfeld, Piquet, Massa, Kubica, Kovalainen, Trulli, Vettel, Alonso, Webber, Rosberg, Raikkonen, Bourdais, Coulthard, Barrichello, Nakajima, Sutil (who pits), Fisichella and Button.

Lap 40: Nakajima pits.

Lap 41: Webber pulls off.

Lap 42: The race resumes.

Lap 43: Kovalainen passes Kubica. Raikkonen passes Rosberg.

Lap 44: Raikkonen and Rosberg pass Alonso.

Lap 45: Hamilton leads Heidfeld by 3.7s. Raikkonen passes Vettel.

Lap 46: Raikkonen passes Trulli.

Lap 49: Barrichello and Coulthard collide. The Scot loses two positions; the Brazilian loses his front wing and heads for the pits.

Lap 50: Hamilton pits and drops to fifth, 0.4s behind Kovalainen and 4.8s behind Massa. Barrichello retires.

Lap 52: Leader Heidfeld sets fastest lap - 1m15.987s. Hamilton passes Kovalainen. Alonso passes Rosberg.

Lap 53: Heidfeld pits and slips to fourth. Piquet leads by 2.0s from Massa and Hamilton. Coulthard passes Nakajima.

Lap 54: Hamilton takes more than a second out of the first two. He trails Massa by 1.4s.

Lap 55: The lapped Button pits again.

Lap 56: Piquet is 1.8s clear of Massa, 2.2s ahead of Hamilton.

Lap 57: Hamilton passes Massa. The Brazilian attempts to respond but goes across the kerbs.

Lap 58: Piquet leads the closing Hamilton by 1.1s. Alonso spins at Turn Six and loses one place: he's 11th.

Lap 59: Piquet leads by 0.4s.

Lap 60: Hamilton leads again following a decisive pass at the hairpin. Raikkonen passes Kubica for sixth. Vettel passes Trulli for eighth.

Lap 61: Coulthard passes Fisichella.

Lap 67: Hamilton wins by 5.5s from Piquet, Massa, Heidfeld, Kovalainen, Raikkonen, Kubica and Vettel.