Montoya, Pruett, Rojas and Kimball win Daytona 24 hours

The Target Chip Ganassi Riley/BMW of Juan Pablo Montoya, Scott Pruett, Memo Rojas and Charlie Kimball won the Daytona 24 hours in Florida today. beating the Wayne Taylor run Velocity Corvette of Max Angelelli, Ryan Hunter-Reay and Jordan Taylor, and the Michael Shank Riley/Ford of AJ Allmendinger, Marcos Ambrose, Oswaldo Negri Jr., John Pew and Justin Wilson in third place. The first three finishers were on the lead lap.

With the win, Pruett has tied Hurley Haywood's record of five overall wins in the classic sportscar event.

Audi has won it's first victory in the GT class, with the Alex Job Racing Audi R8 of Filipe Albuquerque , Dion von Moltke, Oliver Jarvis and Edoardo Mortara. The APR Motorsport Audi R8 of Rene Rast, Ian Baas, Marc Basseng and Frank Stippler was second, and the FXDD Ferrari 458 of Emil Assentato, Nick Longhi, Anthony Lazzaro and Mark Wilkins finished third.

Follow grandprixdotcom on Twitter

Print News Story