Honda F1 website

JUNE 27, 2010

Nine drivers receive 5 second penalty

The nine drivers under investigation after the finish of the European Grand Prix, at Valencia, have been given five second penalties by the stewards of the race. As a result, of the points finishers, Sebastien Buemi loses 8th place to Fernando Alonso, and Pedro de la Rosa loses 10th place to Nico Rosberg.

The Stewards of the Meeting have decided after the race to give Jenson Button, Rubens Barrichello, Nico Hulkenberg, Robert Kubica, Vitaly Petrov, Adrian Sutil, Vitantonio Liuzzi, Sebastien Buemi and Pedro de la Rosa five second penalties for failing to meet the lap time requirements when the Safety Car came out following Mark Webber's accident on lap 9.

Also, Timo Glock has received a 20 second penalty for ignoring blue flags during the race.

In addition, the stewards dismissed giving any penalties to Nico Hulkenberg and Sebastien Buemi, and Vitaly Petrov and Vitantonio Liuzzi in two separate incidents in the crowded pitlane during the Safety Car period, and decided that "the incidents require no further action."

Click here, to see the revised race results.