FIA confirms 2010 Formula One entry list

At the meeting of the World Sport Council in Paris today the FIA confirmed the 13 teams that will race in Formula 1 next season. Before the meeting a peace deal was hammering out between the FIA and FOTA, the FIA accepting FOTA's demands while FOTA dropped it threats of a breakaway series.

As a result, all the current 10 F1 teams are now entered for 2010, along with the 3 new entrants that were previously announced be the FIA. The full list consists of Ferrari, McLaren-Mercedes, BMW Sauber, Renault, Toyota, Scuderia Toro Rosso, Red Bull Racing, Williams-Toyota, Force India-Mercedes, Brawn GP, Campos-Cosworth, Manor-Cosworth and Team US F1-Cosworth.

The FIA press release added:

"All currently competing teams have committed to the FIA Formula One World Championship."

"There will be no alternative series or championship and the rules for 2010 onwards will be the 2009 regulations as well as further regulations agreed prior to 29 April 2009."

"As part of this agreement, the teams will, within two years, reduce the costs of competing in the championship to the level of the early 1990s. The manufacturer teams have agreed to assist the new entries for 2010 by providing technical assistance."

"The manufacturer teams have further agreed to the permanent and continuing role of the FIA as the sport’s governing body. They have also committed to the commercial arrangements for the FIA Formula One World Championship until 2012 and have agreed to renegotiate and extend this contract before the end of that period."

"All teams will adhere to an upgraded version of the governance provisions of the 1998 Concorde Agreement."

Follow grandprixdotcom on Twitter

Print News Story