Hamilton wins an award - well, there's a surprise!

Lewis Hamilton was honoured at the annual Autosport Awards in London on Sunday night. The 23-year-old was voted as International Racing Driver of the Year and was presented with the award by the last McLaren World Champion, Mika Hakkinen.

"It’s always a privilege just being here and thinking about all the other times I’ve been here," said Hamilton. "Just to see the whole journey from the beginning and see the number of people that have made it possible, is very emotional for me. It makes me very proud."

Racing legend Sir Stirling Moss, who won 16 Grands Prix between 1951 and 1961 was recognised with a Gregor Grant Award for a lifetime of achievements in the sport. The award was presented to Sir Stirling by the BBC’s new commentator Martin Brundle. The 1981 World Rally Champion Ari Vatanen also received a Gregor Grant Award.

A John Bolster Award was presented to Carl Haas for his services to motorsport.

Sebastien Loeb was named International Rally Driver of the Year Award for the fourth time, while Sebastien Vettel picked up Rookie of the Year.

Alexander Sims was named McLaren Autosport BRDC Award.

Follow grandprixdotcom on Twitter

Print News Story