Singapore is the 800th World Championship event

Fernando Alonso, Singaport GP 2008

Fernando Alonso, Singaport GP 2008 

 © The Cahier Archive

Singapore will be the 800th World Championship Grand Prix, although some would argue that the 11 Indianapolis 500s that were included in the World Championship in the 1950s and were ignored by the Formula 1 teams should not be included in the overall total.

It is worth noting that Ferrari has competed in 772 of the races and has won 208. McLaren has taken part in 644 races and won 161, while Williams has competed in 513 and won 113. The defunct Team Lotus took part in 491 events and won 79, while Tyrrell took part in 430 and won 23.

No other teams made it to more than half the races.

Follow grandprixdotcom on Twitter

Print News Story