McLaren launches book

McLaren has launched a new book called "McLaren - The Cars 1964-2008", a large-format 304-page hardback book chronicling every McLaren ever built in exhaustive detail. The book includes a foreword was written by Ron Dennis and a postscript by Martin Whitmarsh. Each chapter covers a different phase for the team with a foreword supplied by the dominant McLaren driver of that time, with Emerson Fittipaldi, Niki Lauda, Alain Prost, Mika Hakkinen and Lewis Hamilton introducing the different eras.

"I feel privileged to have worked alongside some truly brilliant people at McLaren these past 28 years, but it would be wrong to single out any of them," said Ron Dennis. "Currently, I have 1300 colleagues at McLaren, and each is as crucial as his or her colleague, however long or short his or her service with the company and however senior or junior his or her position within it.

"I have always said that I am a chapter in the book, not the book itself."

The book was written by photographer William Taylor of Coterie Press.

'McLaren - The Cars 1964-2008' can be purchased from the following websites: and

It will also be available via the Team Vodafone McLaren Mercedes merchandise areas at the British Grand Prix and the Goodwood Festival of Speed

ISBN: 978 1 902351 32 2 Standard Edition (£39.95 on

ISBN: 978 1 902351 33 9 Limited Edition (£69.95 on

Follow grandprixdotcom on Twitter

Print News Story