Honda website

JUNE 2, 2008

Briscoe wins Penske's 300th

Ryan Briscoe won the Indy Racing League race at the Milwaukee Mile, scoring his first win in the series and the 300th victory in motorsports for team owner Roger Penske. The Australian, who was test driver for Toyota F1 for several years, started 11th in the event but made his way up through the field and took the lead from Indianapolis 500 winner Scott Dixon on lap 177 of 225. He stayed ahead during the final round of pit stops and finished ahead of Dixon and Andretti Green Racing's Tony Kanaan. Dixon retains his lead in the championship, ahead of Briscoe's team-mate Helio Castroneves, who finished fifth behind Dan Wheldon. The best of the former Champ Car drivers were Oriol Servia and Justin Wilson in sixth and seventh places. The top 10 was completed by Ernesto Viso, Danica Patrick and Buddy Rice.

In the championship Wheldon is third ahead of Kanaan, Patrick, Marco Andretti and Servia.