Honda website
Honda website

APRIL 28, 2006

FIA confirms Prodrive entry for 2008

The FIA has confirmed the 12 teams that it will have in its Formula 1 World Championship in 2008. They are as follows: BMW Sauber F1 Team, Honda Racing F1 Team, MF1 Racing, Prodrive, Red Bull Racing, Mild Seven Renault F1 Team, Scuderia Ferrari Marlboro, Super Aguri F1 Team, Scuderia Toro Rosso, Panasonic Toyota Racing, Vodafone McLaren Mercedes and Williams F1 Team.

In a press statement FIA President Max Mosley said that Prodrive had been chosen because it had "the best combination of financial backing, technical capability and motor sport experience and is well known to the FIA through its participation in the World Rally Championship. Also, Prodrive?s chief executive, David Richards, has experience as a Formula 1 team principal."

The decision was made by the members of the World Council by a fax vote.

Mosley also said that the number of teams is unlikely to increase.

"The limit of 12 teams was imposed for safety reasons and circuit facilities, pit garages, etc, are designed for this number. It would be very difficult to enlarge the facilities and we would also have to look very carefully at the safety issue."