So what happens to the Toyota juniors?

In recent years the Prema Power team has run cars for Toyota in the Formula 3 Euroseries and in the Italian Formula Renault championship with F3 cars last year for Franck Perera, Roberto Streit and Katsuyuki Hiranaka and Formula Renault entries for Kohei Hirate, Kamui Kobayashi and Ben Clucas. This programme seems to have come to an end with the announcement that Prema, which won the first Formula 3 Euro Series in 2003 with Australian Ryan Briscoe, will run two Italians: Marco Bonanomi and Greg Franchi. The team will continue to run Dallara-Opels.

It remains to be seen what Toyota will do with its junior drivers in the year ahead.

Follow grandprixdotcom on Twitter

Print News Story