Honda F1 website

DECEMBER 12, 2004

Changes at Indianapolis

Indianapolis Motor Speedway and the Indy Racing League have announced new presidents with Joie Chitwood III and Brian Barnhart being promoted to replace Tony George. George will remain as the president of the main Indianapolis Motor Speedway Corporation but will delegate more of the day-to-day business. His mother Mari Hulman George will remain chairwoman of the board. Chitwood was the man who developed the Chicagoland Speedway, which is partially owned by IMS, while Barnhart has been involved with the IRL since 1997.