Honda F1 website

JUNE 29, 2004

WHO gets to 155

Another seven countries have signed up to the World Health Organization's Framework Convention on Tobacco Control, living the total number of signatories to 155 with one day remaining before the deadline for signatures. These include Nigeria, one of the most populous countries which had not signed. The only major states left to sign now are Indonesia and Russia.

The remainder who have not signed are Albania, Afghanistan, Andorra, Angola, Armenia, Azerbaijan, Bahamas, Bahrain, Bosnia-Hercegovina, Colombia, Cuba, Domenica, the Domenican Republic, Equatorial Guinea, Eritrea, Grenada, Guinea-Bissau, Guyana, Iraq, Laos, Lichtenstein, Macedonia, Malawi, Moldova, Nauru, Oman, St Christopher and Nevis, St Lucia, Sierra Leone, Somalia, Swaziland, Taiwan, Tajikistan, Turkmenistan, Uzbekistan, Western Sahara, Western Samoa, Zambia and Zimbabwe.

Hardly the stuff for a Formula 1 World Championship in the future...

The message is very clear that tobacco advertising is going to be stamped out within the next few years.