The Formula 1 Calendar

The FIA has now issued the official Formula 1 calendar for 2004 and, as expected, there will be 17 races. The season starts on March 7 in Australia, Malaysia following on March 21 and then a new race in Bahrain on April 4. The circuit then returns to Europe for the Grand Prix of Europe on April 25 and this is followed by the Spanish GP on May 9 and the Monaco GP on May 23. This is followed by San Marino which has been pushed back to a June 6 date and then the circus heads to the United States for the Grand Prix at Indianapolis on June 20. The British Grand Prix follows on July 4 with the French GP on July 11. The German GP will take place on July 25 and there will then be a three-week break until the Hungarian GP on August 15, the Belgian GP on August 29 and Monza on September 12. The circus then heads to Asia for the Chinese GP on September 26 and the Japanese GP on October 10 and then the F1 troops will head off to Brazil to end the year at Interlagos on October 24.

There are question marks against four races. The two new events are dependent on the usual circuit inspections, Belgium is dependent on the local authorities modifying their tobacco laws and the French GP is dependent on a contract being signed between the organizers and Bernie Ecclestone.

Follow grandprixdotcom on Twitter

Print News Story