Michael is European Sportsman of the Year

The European Sports Writers' Union has voted Michael Schumacher as its sportysman of the year for the third time. Schumacher won the award last year but his 11 Grand Prix victories and record-equalling fifth World Championship meant that the sports writers could hardly ignore him and he won the honour ahead of Norwegian biathlete Ole Einar Bjoerndalen, who won four gold medals at the Salt Lake Winter Olympic Games and Alpine skier Stefan Eberharter who won the World Cup this year.

Follow grandprixdotcom on Twitter

Print News Story