Canada wins FIA race award

THE FIA Prize-giving gala took place at the Monte Carlo Sporting Club on Friday night with all the FIA World Champions being honored for their achievements in 2001. In addition there were the three traditional awards for the best race, the best TV coverage and The Bernie Ecclestone Trophy for the national sporting authority whose licence-holders score the most points in an F1 season. This went to the Germany's Deutsche Motor Sport Bund thanks to the efforts of Michael and Ralf Schumacher, Heinz-Harald Frentzen and Nick Heidfeld.

The Promoter's Trophy for the best event of the year went to the Canadian GP in Montreal while the FOA TV Trophy went to the German channel RTL for the sixth consecutive year.

Follow grandprixdotcom on Twitter

Print News Story