Penalty destroyed Schumacher race - Head

WILLIAMS technical director Patrick Head said that Ralf Schumacher's race was destroyed after he received a 10-second stop-go penalty.

Schumacher was adjudged to have entered the race line before fully crossing the white line that marks the end of the pit-lane and that hampered his chances of a win at the European Grand Prix.

But Head admitted he had not seen the incident and would be reviewing video footage before commenting on the penalty.

Head said: "Apparently he crossed the white line but I didn't actually see it. It simply destroyed his race.

"Whether Ralf would have gone onto to win I don't know. Michael was strong but it would have been a real battle if the penalty had not occurred."

Head, however, was delighted at the performance of Juan Pablo Montoya, who finished second, and now hopes the Colombian can build on his encouraging performance.

Head continued: "It was obviously great news for Juan Pablo, he has come under pressure from people and I hope now that he can build from this great result."

Follow grandprixdotcom on Twitter

Print News Story