Honda website
Honda website

DECEMBER 8, 1997

Who's who in 1998

THE FIA last week issued its provisional Formula 1 entry list and the numbers which the teams will be using next year. The list raised a few points of interest. It confirmed that Arrows will continue to use Yamaha engines in 1998 but left the team's sponsor blank. It had been assumed that Danka would be continuing for a second season but the omission suggests that this may not be the case. With the European tobacco ban likely to go through, it is possible that Tom Walkinshaw will not land a major tobacco sponsorship deal. The name of the Benetton engine remains a mystery while the team name to be used by Williams is still to be decided.

Although the names of the Tyrrell drivers were left blank British American Racing's Craig Pollock confirmed that ToranosukeƊTakagi would be one of the drivers. The drivers nominated can be changed up until March 5 next year.

The numbers issued are: 1, Jacques Villeneuve; 2, Heinz-Harald Frentzen; 3, Michael Schumacher; 4, Eddie Irvine; 5,ƊGiancarlo Fisichella; 6, Alexander Wurz; 7, David Coulthard; 8, Mika Hakkinen; 9, Damon Hill; 10, Ralf Schumacher; 11, Olivier Panis; 12, Jarno Trulli; 14, Jean Alesi; 15, Johnny Herbert; 16, Pedro Diniz; 17, Mika Salo; 18, Rubens Barrichello and 19, Jan Magnussen. Tyrrell will have numbers 20 and 21 and Minardi 22 and 23.