Honda website
Honda website

OCTOBER 28, 1996

Numbering logic

IF the FIA keeps to its Formula 1 numbering system, adopted last year, the new season will see a major switch around of the numbers in Grand Prix racing.

The TWR Arrows team of Damon Hill and Pedro Diniz will take numbers 1 and 2; Williams duo Jacques Villeneuve and Heinz-Harald Frentzen will become numbers 3 and 4 while Ferrari's Michael Schumacher and Eddie Irvine will drive cars 5 and 6. Jean Alesi and Gerhard Berger drop to Benetton's new numbers, 7 and 8 while McLaren's Mika Hakkinen and DavidÊCoulthard will become numbers 9 and 10.

Jordan (11 & 12), Tyrrell (18 & 19) and Minardi (20 & 21) will remain the same, but Ligier will take over numbers 14 and 15 and Sauber will have numbers 16 and 17. The new Stewart Grand Prix should use numbers 22 and 23 but if there are other new teams it could be further down the order.