Swedish GP 1975

JUNE 8, 1975

Swedish GP, 1975

A fortnight after the Belgian GP (Niki Lauda's second consecutive victory) the F1 circus gathered again at Anderstorp in Sweden. There were some changes in the driver lineup with Mario Andretti back in action having missed the Belgian race because of commitments at Indianapolis. Torsten palm was back in action in his Polar Caravans Hesketh. Frank Williams had two new drivers. Arturo Merzario had left the team and was replaced by Irishman Damien Magee while Jacques Laffite was racing in F2 at Hockenheim and so Ian Scheckter was hired to drive the second car. Graham Hill had also replaced Francois Migault with Vern Schuppan.

Qualifying resulted in pole position for Vittorio Brambilla's March (which had led in Belgium) with Patrick Depailler second in his Tyrrell. Third position went to Jean-Pierre Jarier's Shadow and fourth to Carlos Reutemann (Brabham). Then came Lauda followed by Jody Scheckter (Tyrrell), Tom Pryce (Shadow), John Watson (Surtees) and Ronnie Peterson (Lotus). Clay Regazzoni was 11th and Emerson Fittipaldi 12th.

In the race Brambilla took the lead with Depailler, Jarier, Reutemann, Pace and Lauda in pursuit. In the early laps the only change was that Reutemann overtook Jarier. On the 15th lap, however, Depailler went out with a brake problem and on the next lap Brambilla began to drop back with overheating tires. He was overtaken by Reutemann and decided to pit. This left Jarier second and Pace third with Lauda in fourth position ahead of Regazzoni and Andretti.

On lap 39 Jarier went out with engine failure and so Pace made it a Brabham 1-2 but three laps later he spun off. Lauda was suddenly second and he began to close on Reutemann, who was suffering from oversteer. Lauda closed in and on lap 70 he went ahead and went on to win his third consecutive victory. Reutemann finished second with Regazzoni third, Andretti fourth, Mark Donohue fifth in his Penske and Tony Brise sixth in the Hill.

12 Niki Lauda Ferrari 312T 80 1h59m18.319s  
Carlos Reutemann Brabham-Cosworth BT44B 80 1h59m24.607s  
11 Clay Regazzoni Ferrari 312T 80 1h59m47.414s  12 
27 Mario Andretti Parnelli-Cosworth VPJ4 80 2h00m02.699s  15 
28 Mark Donohue Penske-Cosworth PC1 80 2h00m49.082s  16 
23 Tony Brise Hill-Cosworth GH1 79  17 
Jody Scheckter Tyrrell-Cosworth 007 79  
Emerson Fittipaldi McLaren-Cosworth M23 79  11 
Ronnie Peterson Lotus-Cosworth 72E 79  
10r 32 Torsten Palm Hesketh-Cosworth 308 78 Out Of Fuel 21 
11 26 Alan Jones Hesketh-Cosworth 308 79  19 
12 Patrick Depailler Tyrrell-Cosworth 007 78  
13 14 Bob Evans BRM P201 78  23 
14 20 Damien Magee Williams-Cosworth FW 78  22 
15 Jacky Ickx Lotus-Cosworth 72E 77  18 
16 18 John Watson Surtees-Cosworth TS16 77  10 
17 30 Wilson Fittipaldi Copersucar-Cosworth FD02 74  25 
16 Tom Pryce Shadow-Cosworth DN5 53 Spin 
21 Ian Scheckter Williams-Cosworth FW04 49 Tire/ Accident 20 
22 Vern Schuppan Hill-Cosworth GH1 47 Drive Shaft 26 
Carlos Pace Brabham-Cosworth BT44B 41 Accident 
17 Jean-Pierre Jarier Shadow-Cosworth DN5 38 Engine 
Vittorio Brambilla March-Cosworth 751 36 Mechanical 
Jochen Mass McLaren-Cosworth M23 34 Water Leak 14 
24 James Hunt Hesketh-Cosworth 308 21 Brakes 13 
10 Lella Lombardi March-Cosworth 751 10 Mechanical 24