Latest Formula 1 Breaking News -

Spanish GP 1999

MAY 30, 1999

Spanish GP, 1999

Mika Hakkinen and David Coulthard, Spanish GP 1999
© The Cahier Archive

Mika Hakkinen arrived in Spain trailing badly in the World Championship, despite the fact that the McLaren-Mercedes was clearly the fastest car. He took pole and dominated what was a very dull race. The only hope for Ferrari after qualifying was that Eddie Irvine - who had qualified second on the grid because he was using soft tires - would get ahead of Hakkinen at the start. David Coulthard was third on the grid in his McLaren, his confidence dented after a suspension failure in a fast corner. Schumacher was fourth. The third row featured Jean Alesi in his Sauber and Jacques Villeneuve's BAR.

At the start Irvine made a poor getaway. This slowed Schumacher and so Villeneuve was able to pass the pair of them. As the two McLarens disappeared away down the road Michael and Eddie spent a lot of time looking at the back of Villeneuve's car which was running on light tanks. When Villeneuve pitted the Ferraris were so far behind that Coulthard was still able to overshoot his marks during his pit stop (and lose six seconds) and still come out ahead of Schumacher. The result was a McLaren 1-2 and a Ferrari 3-4. Ralf Schumacher picked up two points for Williams in fifth place while the final point went to Jarno Trulli in the Prost-Peugeot.

Mika Hakkinen McLaren-Mercedes  65 1h34m13.665  1m22.088 
David Coulthard McLaren-Mercedes  65 6.238  1m22.244 
Michael Schumacher Ferrari  65 10.845  1m22.277 
Eddie Irvine Ferrari  65 30.182  1m22.219 
Ralf Schumacher Williams-Supertec  65 1m27.208  1m23.303 10 
19 Jarno Trulli Prost-Peugeot  64 1 Lap  1m23.194 
Damon Hill Jordan-Mugen Honda  64 1 Lap  1m23.317 11 
dq 16 Rubens Barrichello Stewart-Ford  64 1 Lap  1m22.920 
23 Ricardo Zonta BAR-Supertec  64 1 Lap  1m23.683 16 
Giancarlo Fisichella Benetton-Supertec  64 1 Lap  1m23.333 13 
10 10 Alexander Wurz Benetton-Supertec  64 1 Lap  1m23.824 18 
11 15 Pedro de la Rosa Arrows  63 2 Laps  1m24.619 19 
12 14 Toranosuke Takagi Arrows  62 3 Laps  1m25.280 20 
20 Luca Badoer Minardi-Ford  50 Gearbox 1m25.833 22 
12 Pedro Diniz Sauber-Petronas  40 Gearbox 1m23.331 12 
22 Jacques Villeneuve BAR-Supertec  40 Gearbox 1m22.703 
17 Johnny Herbert Stewart-Ford  40 Gearbox 1m23.505 14 
Heinz-Harald Frentzen Jordan-Mugen Honda  35 Differential 1m22.938 
11 Jean Alesi Sauber-Petronas  27 Gearbox 1m22.388 
18 Olivier Panis Prost-Peugeot  24 Gearbox 1m23.559 15 
Alessandro Zanardi Williams-Supertec  24 Gearbox 1m23.703 17 
21 Marc Gene Minardi-Ford  Engine 1m25.672 21