Monaco GP 1987

MAY 31, 1987

Monaco GP, 1987

There we no changes in the entry after the Belgian GP and so it was business as usual at Monaco where the three leading Honda-engined cars were at the front as usual with Nigel Mansell taking pole in his Williams, Ayrton Senna second in the Lotus and Nelson Piquet third in the second Williams. Alain Prost was fourth for the McLaren-TAG team with Michele Alboreto fifth in his Ferrari. Sixth place was a surprise in the form of Eddie Cheever's Arrows-Megatron while the top 10 was completed by Stefan Johansson (McLaren-TAG), Gerhard Berger (Ferrari), Thierry Boutsen (Benetton-Ford) and Riccardo Patrese (Brabham-BMW). Alboreto had a spectacular crash when he ran into the back of Christian Danner's Zakspeed on the climb after Ste Devote. The Ferrari flew through the air but fortunately landed back on the track. With 26 cars starting at Monaco for the first time there were worries about safety in the race.

At the start Mansell went straight into the lead so there was no chance of a repetition of his collision with Senna at Spa. The Brazilian was second with Piquet third ahead of Alboreto, Prost and Cheever. The order at the front remained unchanged until lap 30 when Mansell slowed with a loss of boost pressure. Senna went into the lead and stayed there all the way to the flag, despite stopping for tires. Piquet stayed second while Prost moved to third, overhauling Cheever who ran third for much of the mid-race. In the closing laps Alain suffered an engine failure and so third place went to Alboreto with Berger fourth (after Cheever went out with engine failure), Jonathan Palmer fifth in his Tyrrell and Ivan Capelli sixth in the Leyton House March.

12 Ayrton Senna Lotus-Honda  78 1h57m54.085s  
Nelson Piquet Williams-Honda  78 1h58m27.297s  
Nelson Piquet Williams-Honda  78 1h58m27.297  
27 Michele Alboreto Ferrari  78 1h59m06.924s  
28 Gerhard Berger Ferrari  77  
Jonathan Palmer Tyrrell-Cosworth  76  15 
16 Ivan Capelli March-Cosworth  76  19 
Martin Brundle Zakspeed  76  14 
19 Teo Fabi Benetton-Cosworth  76  12 
9r Alain Prost McLaren-TAG Porsche  75 Engine 
10 11 Satoru Nakajima Lotus-Honda  75  17 
11 25 Rene Arnoux Ligier-Megatron  74  22 
12 26 Piercarlo Ghinzani Ligier-Megatron  74  20 
13 14 Pascal Fabre AGS-Cosworth  71  24 
18 Eddie Cheever Arrows-Megatron  59 Cylinder Head Gasket 
17 Derek Warwick Arrows-Megatron  58 Gear Linkage 11 
Stefan Johansson McLaren-TAG Porsche  57 Engine 
30 Philippe Alliot Lola-Cosworth  42 Engine 18 
Riccardo Patrese Brabham-BMW  41 Electronics 10 
21 Alex Caffi Osella-Alfa Romeo  39 Electrics 16 
Andrea de Cesaris Brabham-BMW  38 Suspension 21 
Nigel Mansell Williams-Honda  29 Turbo Wastegate 
24 Alessandro Nannini Minardi-Motori Moderni  21 Electrics 13 
Philippe Streiff Tyrrell-Cosworth  Accident 23 
20 Thierry Boutsen Benetton-Cosworth  Cv Joinr 
ns 23 Adrian Campos Minardi-Motori Moderni   Accident/injury 25 
exc 10 Christian Danner Zakspeed   Dangerous Driving 26