Honda F1 website
Honda website

Abu Dhabi GP 2009

NOVEMBER 1, 2009

Race Notes - Vettel wins Red Bull 1-2 at Abu Dhabi GP

Sebastian Vettel, Mark Webber, Abu Dhabi GP 2009
© The Cahier Archive

Sebastian Vettel led a Red Bull-Renault 1-2 finish - Mark Webber finishing in second place, 17.8 seconds behind. World Champion Jenson Button finished in third place in his Brawn-Mercedes, 18.4 seconds behind.

Polesitter Lewis Hamilton led early on but fell out with brake problems. The win is the fourth victory for Vettel this season and the fourth Red Bull 1-2 finish. Kamui Kobayashi scored his first career points finish in his second race for Toyota.

Rubens Barrichelllo (22.7s) in the second Brawn finished in fourth place, followed by Nick Heidfeld (26.2s) in the BMW Sauber was fifth, Kamui Kobayashi (28.3s) in the Toyota was sixth, his team mate Jarno Trulli (34.3s) was seventh, and Sebastien Buemi (41.2s) in the Toro Rosso-Ferrari finished in the final points paying position.

At the start Hamilton led from pole, with Vettel and Webber following. At turn one Webber turns in on Barrichello, taking the Brazilian's front wing endplate off his Brawn-Mercedes.

Robert Kubica takes sixth place from Trulli, while Button passes Barrichello for fourth. Kubica then challenging Barrichello.

At lap 5 Hamilton extends his lead to 1.3 seconds over Vettel, followed by Webber (4.1s), Button (5.9s), Barrichello (7.7s), Kubica (8.9s), Trulli (11.3s), Heidfeld (12.6s), Nico Rosberg (14.3s) and Buemi (15.6s) in tenth place.

On lap 12 Hamilton runs wide at on corner but continues losing a few tenths of a second, Vettel now within one second of the leader.

At lap 15 Hamilton leads Vettel by 1.2 seconds, followed by Webber (2.8s), Button (6.4s), Barrichello (8.9s), Kubica (12.0s), Trulli (17.6s), Heidfeld (19.3s), Rosberg (21.3s) and Buemi (22.8s) in tenth place.

On lap 17 Barrichello and Kubica both make their first pit stops, both staying on the harder tyre.

The next lap the leader Hamilton pits. Button pits the same lap from fourth place, battling with Kamui Kobayashi after rejoining, the young Japanese driver takes the position from the World Champion.

Webber, Trulli and Rosberg and Buemi pit on lap 19.

Vettel pits from the lead on lap 20 rejoining ahead of Hamilton. Heidfeld pitting on the as well.

On lap 21 Hamilton is reporting vibrations and retires in the pits, with a brake problem.

At lap 21 Vettel now leads Webber by 6.0 seconds, followed by Kobayashi (12.9s) - yet to pit - Button (15.5s), Barricheelo (16.5s), Kimi Raikkonen (17.7s), Kovalainen (18.8s), Heidfeld (22.3s), Trulli (26.1s) and Kubica (26.9s) in tenth place.

On lap 22 Jaime Alguersuari stops on the circuit, after having missed his Toro Rosso pit stall and passing through the Red Bull pit.

On lap 26 Webber runs wide but continues.

On lap 30 Raikkonen pits from sixth place. The next lap Kobayashi, on a one-stop strategy, pits from third place. Heikki Kovalainen pits on lap 32 from fifth place. Giancarlo Fisichella serves a drive-through penalty for speeding on his earlier pitstop.

At lap 35 Vettel continues to lead Webber by 9.2 seconds, followed by Button (21.4s), Barrichello (24.9s), Heidfeld (29.1), Trulli (35.7s), Kubica (37.5s), Rosberg (40.2s), Buemi (42.6s) and Kobayashi (52.3s) in tenth place.

On lap 41 Webber pits from second place - the first of the leaders to make their final stop - he rejoins in sixth place. Barrichello, Heidfeld and Buemi pit on the next lap.

Kubica battles Buemi for eighth place, Kubica spins and loses a place to Rosberg.

On lap 43 leader Vettel, Button and Trulli make their final stop.

At lap 46 Vettel leads Webber by 17.0 seconds, followed by Button (20.6s), Barrichello (26.0s), Heidfeld (29.1s), Kobayashi (32.1s), Trulli (38.3s), Buemi (45.7s), Rosberg (48.1s) and Kubica (49.2s) in tenth place.

In the final laps Button closes on Webber in second place, the two battling for the position on the final lap, but Webber keeping the position.

The order remained the same to the chequered flag.