DECEMBER 1, 2006

The FIA official entry

The FIA has issued the official numbers of the 2007 season with no big surprises on the list, which is led by World Champion Fernando Alonso, who takes his number one to McLaren. The full list is as follows:

1. Fernando Alonso (Vodafone McLaren Mercedes)

2. Lewis Hamilton (Vodafone McLaren Mercedes)

3. Giancarlo Fisichella (ING Renault F1 Team)

4. Heikki Kovalainen (ING Renault F1 Team)

5. Felipe Massa (Scuderia Ferrari Marlboro)

6. Kimi Raikkonen (Scuderia Ferrari Marlboro)

7. Jenson Button (Honda Racing F1 Team)

8. Rubens Barrichello (Honda Racing F1 Team)

9. Nick Heidfeld (BMW Sauber F1 Team)

10. Robert Kubica (BMW Sauber F1 Team)

11. Ralf Schumacher (Panasonic Toyota Racing)

12. Jarno Trulli (Panasonic Toyota Racing)

14. David Coulthard (Red Bull Racing)

15. Mark Webber (Red Bull Racing)

16. Nico Rosberg (AT&T Williams)

17. Alexander Wurz (AT&T Williams)

18. TBA (Scuderia Toro Rosso)

19. TBA (Scuderia Toro Rosso)

20. Christijan Albers (Spyker F1 Team)

21. TBA (Spyker F1 Team)

22. Takuma Sato (TBA Super Auguri F1 Team)

23. Anthony Davidson (TBA Super Aguri F1 Team).

The points of interest are the fact that neither Scuderia Toro Rosso driver has been confirmed and that the cars will be known as STR-Ferraris; that Spyker has got everyone to agree to a name change and that Super Aguri is obviously expecting to sign a title sponsor.