Honda website
Honda website

DECEMBER 5, 2005

Loeb is champion of champions

World Rally Champion Sebastien Loeb won the Race of Champions in Paris's Stade de France. Loeb beat sports car star Tom Kristensen in the final. Loeb defeated American X-Games star Travis Pastrana, Scotland's Colin McRae (who had previously beaten Armin Schwarz) and then Marcus Gronholm, who had beaten rally raid star Stephane Peterhansel and then Daniel Sordo (who has beaten Francois Duval).

Kristensen defeated David Coulthard, Nelson Piquet Jr, Jeff Gordon and Heikki Kovalainen on his way to the final. Piquet defeated Mattias Ekstrom in the first round, while Gordon made it through after knocking out Christijan Albers (who had mechanical trouble) and Sebastien Bourdais (who had previously beaten Dan Wheldon). Kovalainen's route to the semi-final saw the reigning Race of Champions champion beating Felipe Massa, who has previously dispensed with Jean Alesi.

The Nations Cup event was won by the Scandinavian pairing of Ekstrom and Kristensen, beating Team PlayStation France's Bourdais and Peterhansel.