Honda website
Honda website

NOVEMBER 14, 2002

All eyes to Macau

The annual Macau Grand Prix provides young drivers with an opportunity to show off their talents against the best Formula 3 drivers in the world and any driver with a Macau GP victory on his CV will be taken seriously by the F1 community. Past winners of the event, which has run to F3 regulations since 1983, have include Ayrton Senna, Michael Schumacher, David Coulthard, Giancarlo Fisichella and Ralf Schumacher.

This year's field for the Chinese street race (Macau is now under Chinese control) features most of the national F3 champions including Britain's Robbie Kerr, France's Tristan Gommendy, Milos Pavlovic (the Italian Champion) and Japan's Takashi Kogure. The only major player missing is German F3 champion Gary Paffett.

The opposition will include James Courtney, Bruce Jouannay, Fabio Carbone, Heikki Kovalainen and other frontrunners from the world of F3.