Australian GP 1987

Australian GP, 1987

With Nigel Mansell out of action with injury after the Japanese GP, Williams did a deal with Brabham to use 1988 signing Riccardo Patrese for the final race of 1987 and Brabham took on youngster Stefano Modena was Patrese's replacement. Otherwise the field was as before. Japanese GP winner Gerhard Berger was on pole position in his Ferrari from Alain Prost's McLaren-TAG, Nelson Piquet's Williams-Honda and the Lotus-Honda of Ayrton Senna. Thierry Boutsen was fifth quickest in his Benetton-Ford ahead of Michele Alboreto's Ferrari, Patrese's Williams, Stefan Johansson's McLaren, Teo Fabi's Benetton and Andrea de Cesaris's Brabham.

Berger did as he had done in Japan, leading from flag to flag. He was chased initially by Piquet and Senna but the Lotus soon fell behind Prost. After the midrace pit stops Senna moved to second with Alboreto third. The final World Championship points went to Jonathan Palmer (Tyrrell) in fourth place, Yannick Dalmas (Larrousse Lola) in fifth and Roberto Moreno (AGS) in sixth.

28 Gerhard Berger Ferrari  82 1h52m56.144s  
dq 12 Ayrton Senna Lotus-Honda  82 Brake Duct Irregularities 
27 Michele Alboreto Ferrari  82 1h54m04.028s  
20 Thierry Boutsen Benetton-Cosworth  81  
Jonathan Palmer Tyrrell-Cosworth  80  19 
29 Yannick Dalmas Lola-Cosworth  79  21 
14 Roberto Moreno AGS-Cosworth  79  25 
10 Christian Danner Zakspeed  79  24 
8r Andrea de Cesaris Brabham-BMW  78 Spin 10 
9r Ricardo Patrese Williams-Honda  76 Engine 
Nelson Piquet Williams-Honda  58 Brakes/gear Linkkage 
16 Ivan Capelli March-Cosworth  58 Spin 23 
Alain Prost McLaren-TAG Porsche  53 Brakes/accident 
18 Eddie Cheever Arrows-Megatron  53 Engine Over Heating 11 
Stefan Johansson McLaren-TAG Porsche  48 Brakes 
19 Teo Fabi Benetton-Cosworth  46 Brakes 
23 Adrian Campos Minardi-Motori Moderni  46 Gearbox 26 
30 Philippe Alliot Lola-Cosworth  45 Electrics 17 
25 Rene Arnoux Ligier-Megatron  41 Electrics 20 
Stefano Modena Brabham-BMW  31 Driver Exhausted 15 
26 Piercarlo Ghinzani Ligier-Megatron  26 Engine 22 
11 Satoru Nakajima Lotus-Honda  22 Suspension Hydraulics 14 
17 Derek Warwick Arrows-Megatron  19 Transmission 12 
Martin Brundle Zakspeed  18 Gear Selector/turbo 16 
Philippe Streiff Tyrrell-Cosworth  Spin 18 
24 Alessandro Nannini Minardi-Motori Moderni  Accident 13 
nq 21 Alex Caffi Osella-Alfa Romeo    27