Monaco GP 1986

Monaco GP, 1986

There was a new chicane at Monaco, the track having been extended out over the harbor to create a much slower kink than had previously been the case. The only change to the entry was that Patrick Tambay had a new Ford turbo engine in the back of his Beatrice Lola for the first time.

Qualifying resulted in pole position for Alain Prost (McLaren-TAG) with Nigel Mansell (Williams-Honda) and Ayrton Senna (Lotus-Renault) behind him. Then came Michele Alboreto's Ferrari and the improving Benetton-BMW of Gerhard Berger. The Brabham-BMW BT55 seemed to be getting better as well with Riccardo Patrese sixth ahead of Jacques Laffite's Ligier-Renault, Tambay, Keke Rosberg (McLaren-TAG) and Martin Brundle in the Tyrrell-Renault. The biggest surprise in qualifying was Johnny Dumfries's failure to qualify the second Lotus-Renault.

Laffite had to start from the back of the grid because he was not ready when the field set off for the final parade lap. The start was incident free and the top 10 then remained unchanged for the first few laps with Prost leading Senna, Mansell, Alboreto, a fast-starting Rosberg and Berger. The Austrian fell behind Patrese on lap 10 and on lap 16 Rosberg overtook Alboreto. He followed this up by overtaking Mansell on lap 26 and the Englishman then pitted for new tires, which dropped him to fifth behind Alboreto. Patrese blew his chances by stalling during his pit stop. When the pits stops were over Prost led Rosberg and Senna. Mansell was fourth. Alboreto retired with a turbo failure and Berger went out with a hub problem. Further back there was a dramatic accident when Brundle and Tambay collided at Mirabeau, the Beatrice Lola somersaulting into the barriers. Both cars were out.

The order at the front did not change, however, and so Prost won from Rosberg with Senna third, Mansell fourth and the Ligiers of Arnoux and Laffite fifth and sixth.

Alain Prost McLaren-TAG Porsche  78 1h55m41.060s  
Keke Rosberg McLaren-TAG Porsche  78 1h56m06.082s  
12 Ayrton Senna Lotus-Renault  78 1h56m34.706s  
Nigel Mansell Williams-Honda  78 1h56m52.462s  
25 Rene Arnoux Ligier-Renault  77  12 
26 Jacques Laffite Ligier-Renault  77  
Nelson Piquet Williams-Honda  77  11 
18 Thierry Boutsen Arrows-BMW  75  14 
17 Marc Surer Arrows-BMW  75  17 
10 28 Stefan Johansson Ferrari  75  15 
11 Philippe Streiff Tyrrell-Renault  74  13 
12 14 Jonathan Palmer Zakspeed  74  19 
Martin Brundle Tyrrell-Renault  67 Accident 10 
16 Patrick Tambay Lola-Hart  67 Accident 
20 Gerhard Berger Benetton-BMW  42 Wheel Drive Pegs 
27 Michele Alboreto Ferrari  38 Turbo 
Riccardo Patrese Brabham-BMW  38 Fuel Pump 
Elio de Angelis Brabham-BMW  31 Turbo Boost Pressure 20 
19 Teo Fabi Benetton-BMW  17 Brakes 16 
15 Alan Jones Lola-Hart  Accident 18 
nq 21 Piercarlo Ghinzani Osella-Alfa Romeo    21 
nq 11 Johnny Dumfries Lotus-Renault    22 
nq 29 Huub Rothengatter Zakspeed    23 
nq 22 Christian Danner Osella-Alfa Romeo    24 
nq 23 Andrea de Cesaris Minardi-Motori Moderni    25 
nq 24 Alessandro Nannini Minardi-Motori Moderni    26